Welcome,
Guest
. Please
login
or
register
.
Did you miss your
activation email
?
1 Hour
1 Day
1 Week
1 Month
Forever
Login with username, password and session length
Home
About
Team
Rules
Stats
Status
Sitemap
Chat
Downloads
Forum
News
Our Projects
Major Community Projects
Recent Posts
Unread Posts
Replies
Tools
SourceCoder3
Other Things...
Omnimaga Radio
TI-83 Plus ASM File Unsquisher
Z80 Conversion Tools
IES TI File Editor
Free RAM areas
Comprehensive Getkeyr table
URL Shortener
Online Axe Tilemap Editor
Help
Contact Us
Change Request
Report Issue/Bug
Team
Articles
Members
View the memberlist
Search For Members
Buddies
Login
Register
Omnimaga
»
Forum
»
Calculator Community
»
TI Calculators
»
ASM
»
Hooks
« previous
next »
Print
Pages: [
1
]
Go Down
Author
Topic: Hooks (Read 6242 times)
0 Members and 2 Guests are viewing this topic.
Deep Toaster
So much to do, so much time, so little motivation
Administrator
LV13
Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
Posts: 8217
Rating: +758/-15
Hooks
«
on:
October 23, 2010, 12:28:15 pm »
Really plain question: What are hooks? (As you've probably guessed from that question, I don't know anything at all, so links would be great
) TInA!
«
Last Edit: October 23, 2010, 12:28:25 pm by Deep Thought
»
Logged
DJ Omnimaga
Clacualters are teh gr33t
CoT Emeritus
LV15
Omnimagician (Next: --)
Posts: 55943
Rating: +3154/-232
CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
Re: Hooks
«
Reply #1 on:
October 23, 2010, 12:58:13 pm »
I would have linked to
http://wikiti.brandonw.net/index.php?title=Category:83Plus:Hooks:By_Name
but it doesn't really explain what are hooks, it just lists them.
Logged
SirCmpwn
Guest
Re: Hooks
«
Reply #2 on:
October 23, 2010, 01:00:50 pm »
Hooks are assembly routines called by the OS in certain situations. The parser hook, for instance, is run when a command is executed. This is how xLib works.
Logged
DJ Omnimaga
Clacualters are teh gr33t
CoT Emeritus
LV15
Omnimagician (Next: --)
Posts: 55943
Rating: +3154/-232
CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
Re: Hooks
«
Reply #3 on:
October 23, 2010, 01:02:03 pm »
There are multiple types of hooks, though, right? Key kooks, parser hooks, etc...
Logged
SirCmpwn
Guest
Re: Hooks
«
Reply #4 on:
October 23, 2010, 01:03:23 pm »
Yep. That page you linked to earlier has all of them
Logged
DJ Omnimaga
Clacualters are teh gr33t
CoT Emeritus
LV15
Omnimagician (Next: --)
Posts: 55943
Rating: +3154/-232
CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
Re: Hooks
«
Reply #5 on:
October 23, 2010, 01:04:14 pm »
Oh wow I didn't realise every single of those were different types of hooks. I am noticing the parser hook in there now.
Logged
Deep Toaster
So much to do, so much time, so little motivation
Administrator
LV13
Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
Posts: 8217
Rating: +758/-15
Re: Hooks
«
Reply #6 on:
October 23, 2010, 01:06:14 pm »
Oh, thanks. I was just wondering if it'd be possible to make a hook that allows me to calculate something while inside the prgm editor (so that I don't have to quit and scroll all the way back down again just to check what 324*73 is). Can hooks even do something like that?
Logged
DJ Omnimaga
Clacualters are teh gr33t
CoT Emeritus
LV15
Omnimagician (Next: --)
Posts: 55943
Rating: +3154/-232
CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
Re: Hooks
«
Reply #7 on:
October 23, 2010, 01:09:31 pm »
It depends. Can hooks be real-time?
Logged
thepenguin77
z80 Assembly Master
LV10
31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
Posts: 1594
Rating: +823/-5
The game in my avatar is bit.ly/p0zPWu
Re: Hooks
«
Reply #8 on:
October 23, 2010, 01:30:17 pm »
That sounds possible. As for hooks, you basically look through that list to see where the closest hook is to what you will be doing. For your purposes, I would say you want the raw key hook. That hook is called any time the OS receives a key press. So lets say that you decide that VARS is going to be your goto button. You would have to find a ram area that you don't think is going to be killed in the near future. My favorite is smallEditRAM, no one knows about it so it is never used; it will persist through almost all games.
Then at smallEditRam you will make the code for your hook, your first line must be a .db $83, this is so the OS knows that it is calling a hook and not jumping to an outdated address. Since this ram area is pretty small ~170 bytes, I like to make the code at this area find the real program in the archive, and stream the real code into appBackUpScreen. Then for your hook, the first thing you want to do is figure out which button was pressed, and if it wasn't vars, quit. Then if it was vars, you probably want to have some other qualifier so that the vars button is not useless, like the ON button which doesn't trigger the hook.
So now you are ready to do your calculations. Remember that since you are editing a program, the edit buffer is open and there is 0 free ram available. And when your calculation is done, I'm not exactly sure how you would put the screen back to normal you'll have to ask someone else for that. A bcall(_jForceCMDNoChar) might do it, but I think that will go to the homescreen. Also, don't forget to enable the hook with it's corresponding enable bcall.
Edit:
Now that I think about it, don't stream the info in on every single key press, you're calculator will be sooo slow. Instead, do the checks in smallEditRAM and then stream in your calculator GUI code when you get a match.
«
Last Edit: October 23, 2010, 01:33:08 pm by thepenguin77
»
Logged
zStart v1.3.013
9-20-2013
All of my utilities
TI-Connect Help
You can build a statue out of either 1'x1' blocks or 12'x12' blocks. The 1'x1' blocks will take a lot longer, but the final product is worth it.
-Runer112
DJ Omnimaga
Clacualters are teh gr33t
CoT Emeritus
LV15
Omnimagician (Next: --)
Posts: 55943
Rating: +3154/-232
CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
Re: Hooks
«
Reply #9 on:
October 23, 2010, 02:34:26 pm »
Yeah what you mention in your edit was my concern. We must not make user input too slow either, same for scrolling through the program. MathPrint was slow enough like that
.
Logged
Deep Toaster
So much to do, so much time, so little motivation
Administrator
LV13
Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
Posts: 8217
Rating: +758/-15
Re: Hooks
«
Reply #10 on:
October 25, 2010, 11:57:43 am »
Thanks for the info. So here's what I've figured out so far:
The hook will find and run a program the way you suggested. The program will let the user input the equation on the final (eighth) line of the BASIC prgm editor, storing everything to some saferam area. And then it calls _ParseInp and copies the result into the editor. _JForceCmdNoChar doesn't work because it returns to the homescreen, so it's just going to simply quit and clear the last line.
Then I realized: _ParseInp requires that the input be stored to some equation variable. Since I can't create a new equation variable, I'm thinking of hacking the VAT to make Y
1
or something point to the equation loaded in the saferam area where the actual expression's stored, then restoring the VAT later. Anyone know a reason why I shouldn't (like if it would be unstable)?
«
Last Edit: October 25, 2010, 12:04:25 pm by Deep Thought
»
Logged
Print
Pages: [
1
]
Go Up
« previous
next »
Omnimaga
»
Forum
»
Calculator Community
»
TI Calculators
»
ASM
»
Hooks