Welcome,
Guest
. Please
login
or
register
.
Did you miss your
activation email
?
1 Hour
1 Day
1 Week
1 Month
Forever
Login with username, password and session length
Home
About
Team
Rules
Stats
Status
Sitemap
Chat
Downloads
Forum
News
Our Projects
Major Community Projects
Recent Posts
Unread Posts
Replies
Tools
SourceCoder3
Other Things...
Omnimaga Radio
TI-83 Plus ASM File Unsquisher
Z80 Conversion Tools
IES TI File Editor
Free RAM areas
Comprehensive Getkeyr table
URL Shortener
Online Axe Tilemap Editor
Help
Contact Us
Change Request
Report Issue/Bug
Team
Articles
Members
View the memberlist
Search For Members
Buddies
Login
Register
Omnimaga
»
Forum
»
Calculator Community
»
TI Calculators
»
ASM
»
Running ASM programs with wabbitemu
« previous
next »
Print
Pages: [
1
]
2
Go Down
Author
Topic: Running ASM programs with wabbitemu (Read 13215 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Excelseo
LV2
Member (Next: 40)
Posts: 21
Rating: +0/-0
Running ASM programs with wabbitemu
«
on:
September 03, 2016, 02:30:28 pm »
I'm sorry to come running here for help so quickly this time, but I haven't been able to find this out anywhere else. I recently downloaded wabbitemu, since I was sick of clearing my ram all of the time, and SPASM, since I was sick of typing assembly programs on the calculator all the time. I got spasm to work just fine, and it's churning out lovely .8xp files just like I want it to. However, whenever I try to drag-and-drop a program file into wabbitemu, it's stored into the calculator as "C:\Asm\Spasm\program.exe", which, of course, generates a syntax error when I try to run it. How can I fix this?
Thanks, and sorry for asking two questions in a row
.
Logged
Iambian
Coder Of Tomorrow
LV8
Addict (Next: 1000)
Posts: 739
Rating: +216/-3
Cherry Flavoured Nommer of Fishies
Re: Running ASM programs with wabbitemu
«
Reply #1 on:
September 03, 2016, 02:35:05 pm »
In order to run assembly programs, you have to prefix the command with the Asm( token so it looks like this on the homescreen:
Code:
[Select]
Asm(prgmMYPRGM)
That's the most likely problem. If the program afterward isn't a valid assembly program and you do this, you'd get an "ERR:INVALID" error instead.
EDIT: Holy hell did the post above just change on me? Gotta run more tests, but what you're describing on your side should both NOT be happening and shouldn't be possible. How are you viewing the files? Any screenshots? I want to know where you got your emulator and tools from, and what OS you're using.
«
Last Edit: September 03, 2016, 02:38:40 pm by Iambian
»
Logged
A Cherry-Flavored Iambian draws near... what do you do? ...
Excelseo
LV2
Member (Next: 40)
Posts: 21
Rating: +0/-0
Re: Running ASM programs with wabbitemu
«
Reply #2 on:
September 03, 2016, 03:15:25 pm »
Calc OS: 2.55
Computer OS: Windows 10 (ugh)
Emulator and Assembler source:
https://wabbit.codeplex.com/
In case this is what confused you, the files on the calculator are actually stored as "C:\Asm\S" so nothing paranormal is going on
. Sory if that confused you, bad wording on my part.
Screenshot is attached.
And yes, I am using the "Asm(" instruction to run the program.
Logged
Excelseo
LV2
Member (Next: 40)
Posts: 21
Rating: +0/-0
Re: Running ASM programs with wabbitemu
«
Reply #3 on:
September 03, 2016, 03:32:33 pm »
Just noticed something else weird. The program file is wayyyyy smaller than it should be. It's 76 bytes, and the program has a single table bigger than that. I looked at the .bin file I got from the assembler and that's apparently 0 bytes. Is this a windows problem or an assembler problem?
EDIT: Nevermind, re-assembled the program and it's back to up to the proper 710 bytes. Just a weird glitch I guess.
EDITTACULAR: Another screenshot, showing how the program name changes on the home screen.
«
Last Edit: September 03, 2016, 03:36:26 pm by Excelseo
»
Logged
Sorunome
Fox Fox Fox Fox Fox Fox Fox!
Support Staff
LV13
Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
Posts: 7920
Rating: +374/-13
Derpy Hooves
Re: Running ASM programs with wabbitemu
«
Reply #4 on:
September 03, 2016, 03:34:09 pm »
Did you dump your own rom?
Did you try opening the file via File -> Open rather than drag&drop?
Logged
THE GAME
Also, check out
my website
If OmnomIRC is screwed up, blame me!
Click here to give me an internet!
Excelseo
LV2
Member (Next: 40)
Posts: 21
Rating: +0/-0
Re: Running ASM programs with wabbitemu
«
Reply #5 on:
September 03, 2016, 03:39:18 pm »
I didn't dump my own ROM. I used one from the inter
slice
net. I got an "OS files are corrupted" error when I tried to dump my own rom, even after updating the OS. Is there any way that I can completely reinstall the operating system?
Logged
Iambian
Coder Of Tomorrow
LV8
Addict (Next: 1000)
Posts: 739
Rating: +216/-3
Cherry Flavoured Nommer of Fishies
Re: Running ASM programs with wabbitemu
«
Reply #6 on:
September 03, 2016, 03:46:22 pm »
Okay. I'll need to know exactly how you're invoking SPASM on the command-line and maybe a copy of the .8xp file to see if the header's broken.
If nothing's wrong there, the problem then has to be something between Wabbitemu and Win10. Which doesn't make a whole lot of sense.
EDIT: Also, are you able to reproduce the problem using Wabbitemu's File -> Open... menu on the .8xp files?
«
Last Edit: September 03, 2016, 03:49:34 pm by Iambian
»
Logged
A Cherry-Flavored Iambian draws near... what do you do? ...
Excelseo
LV2
Member (Next: 40)
Posts: 21
Rating: +0/-0
Re: Running ASM programs with wabbitemu
«
Reply #7 on:
September 03, 2016, 03:51:49 pm »
cd "C:\asm\spasm"
spasm.exe BACKGRND.txt
binpac8x.py BACKGRND.bin
8xp file is attached, along with notepad file.
Logged
Xeda112358
they/them
Moderator
LV12
Extreme Poster (Next: 5000)
Posts: 4704
Rating: +719/-6
Calc-u-lator, do doo doo do do do.
Re: Running ASM programs with wabbitemu
«
Reply #8 on:
September 03, 2016, 04:38:05 pm »
Try spasm BACKGRND.txt BACKGRND.8xp all on the same line.
Logged
My pastebin
|
Pokémon Amber
|
Grammer Programming Language
|
BatLib Library
|
Jade Simulator
|
Zeda's Hex Opcodes
|
FileSyst Library
|
CopyProg
|
TPROG
|
GroupRead
|
Lbl Read/Write
|
Z80 Floating Point Routines
(
z80float on GitHub
)|
Z80 Optimized Routines Repository
Excelseo
LV2
Member (Next: 40)
Posts: 21
Rating: +0/-0
Re: Running ASM programs with wabbitemu
«
Reply #9 on:
September 03, 2016, 05:05:42 pm »
I am almost completely sure that the program is (usually) assembling correctly at this point. When I run the program on the calculator and recieve a syntax error, pressing goto places the cursor on the "." in "C.?ASM?", suggesting that the program name is invalid. I originally asked the question wondering if there was a way to send a program to the emulator and give it a valid name not including special characters.
Logged
Xeda112358
they/them
Moderator
LV12
Extreme Poster (Next: 5000)
Posts: 4704
Rating: +719/-6
Calc-u-lator, do doo doo do do do.
Re: Running ASM programs with wabbitemu
«
Reply #10 on:
September 03, 2016, 06:00:52 pm »
Have you tried that, then sending the resulting file to the emulator? No need for binpac8x.
Logged
My pastebin
|
Pokémon Amber
|
Grammer Programming Language
|
BatLib Library
|
Jade Simulator
|
Zeda's Hex Opcodes
|
FileSyst Library
|
CopyProg
|
TPROG
|
GroupRead
|
Lbl Read/Write
|
Z80 Floating Point Routines
(
z80float on GitHub
)|
Z80 Optimized Routines Repository
Iambian
Coder Of Tomorrow
LV8
Addict (Next: 1000)
Posts: 739
Rating: +216/-3
Cherry Flavoured Nommer of Fishies
Re: Running ASM programs with wabbitemu
«
Reply #11 on:
September 03, 2016, 06:46:04 pm »
The assembled file that you attached to your post has that strange filename problem in its header, indicating that something (probably binpac8x.py) is putting that invalid name there which Wabbitemu is picking up and using.
Like Xeda said, try just having on the command line:
Code:
[Select]
spasm BACKGRND.txt BACKGRND.8xp
Then resend your program.
Logged
A Cherry-Flavored Iambian draws near... what do you do? ...
Excelseo
LV2
Member (Next: 40)
Posts: 21
Rating: +0/-0
Re: Running ASM programs with wabbitemu
«
Reply #12 on:
September 04, 2016, 11:56:14 am »
I tried the all-on-one-line approach, and the same thing happened. The issue is that the path is appearing in the filename once the program is transferred to the emulator. Instead of BACKGRND, it's C:\Asm\Spasm\BACKGRND. I just want to be able to remove the path from the beginning of the filename when I transfer the program to the emulator.
Logged
c4ooo
LV5
Advanced (Next: 300)
Posts: 252
Rating: +10/-1
The impossible chemical compound.
Re: Running ASM programs with wabbitemu
«
Reply #13 on:
September 04, 2016, 07:10:06 pm »
A file doesnt have to have the same name as the .8xp file in which its contained. Ex if i send the program "TEST" from my calc to PC, TI's software will save it as "TEST.8xp". However if i rename "TEST.8xp" to anything like "Longer than 8 chars {}{}{}.8xp"; when i send it to my calc, it will still create the program "TEST" on my calc.
Logged
-German Kuznetsov
The impossible chemical compound.
Excelseo
LV2
Member (Next: 40)
Posts: 21
Rating: +0/-0
Re: Running ASM programs with wabbitemu
«
Reply #14 on:
September 05, 2016, 11:16:41 am »
How do I determine what the program will be called when I send it to the calculator, if it isn't dependent on the .8xp filename?
Logged
Print
Pages: [
1
]
2
Go Up
« previous
next »
Omnimaga
»
Forum
»
Calculator Community
»
TI Calculators
»
ASM
»
Running ASM programs with wabbitemu