Welcome,
Guest
. Please
login
or
register
.
Did you miss your
activation email
?
1 Hour
1 Day
1 Week
1 Month
Forever
Login with username, password and session length
Home
About
Team
Rules
Stats
Status
Sitemap
Chat
Downloads
Forum
News
Our Projects
Major Community Projects
Recent Posts
Unread Posts
Replies
Tools
SourceCoder3
Other Things...
Omnimaga Radio
TI-83 Plus ASM File Unsquisher
Z80 Conversion Tools
IES TI File Editor
Free RAM areas
Comprehensive Getkeyr table
URL Shortener
Online Axe Tilemap Editor
Help
Contact Us
Change Request
Report Issue/Bug
Team
Articles
Members
View the memberlist
Search For Members
Buddies
Login
Register
Omnimaga
»
Forum
»
Calculator Community
»
Major Community Projects
»
Discontinued
»
Escheron: Shadow over Ragnoth
(Moderators:
Iambian
,
Geekboy1011
,
Zera
) »
Lost Legends II
« previous
next »
Print
Pages:
1
...
7
8
[
9
]
10
11
Go Down
Author
Topic: Lost Legends II (Read 55286 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Halifax
LV9
Veteran (Next: 1337)
Posts: 1334
Rating: +2/-1
Lost Legends II
«
Reply #120 on:
November 21, 2007, 09:08:00 am »
Hmm that is really cool. So this game is all formed around being dynamic? I like that idea.
Logged
There are 10 types of people in this world-- those that can read binary, and those that can't.
Liazon
Guest
Lost Legends II
«
Reply #121 on:
November 22, 2007, 04:29:00 am »
that sounds cool. i like the idea of having the main dungeon span multiple worlds.
Logged
Zera
Project Author
LV8
Addict (Next: 1000)
Posts: 737
Rating: +82/-7
Monochrome Artisan
Lost Legends II
«
Reply #122 on:
November 22, 2007, 09:53:00 pm »
I did a mock-up to see how the dialogue window would actually appear in the middle of a scene. It still tends to cover up most of what's going on, but it's a bit better than the original.
Logged
DJ Omnimaga
Clacualters are teh gr33t
CoT Emeritus
LV15
Omnimagician (Next: --)
Posts: 55943
Rating: +3154/-232
CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
Lost Legends II
«
Reply #123 on:
November 23, 2007, 03:52:00 am »
not too bad. Do you think you could make it detect if there is more characters/npcs at bottom of screen than the top so if there's more at bottom it will show the text box at top of the screen or stuff like this? In some of my old games I had text routine show up at top of screen instead of bottom when character was walking on the bottom half or vice-versa
Also I would make that floor white or white with castle rocky feature
Logged
Zera
Project Author
LV8
Addict (Next: 1000)
Posts: 737
Rating: +82/-7
Monochrome Artisan
Lost Legends II
«
Reply #124 on:
November 23, 2007, 04:16:00 am »
Well, I plan to execute each dialogue window in a given position, depending on how the event itself handles it, so it's not always going to appear on the bottom.
Logged
Liazon
Guest
Lost Legends II
«
Reply #125 on:
November 23, 2007, 11:53:00 am »
QuoteBegin-DJ Omnimaga+23 Nov, 2007, 9:52-->
QUOTE
(DJ Omnimaga @ 23 Nov, 2007, 9:52)
not too bad. Do you think you could make it detect if there is more characters/npcs at bottom of screen than the top so if there's more at bottom it will show the text box at top of the screen or stuff like this? In some of my old games I had text routine show up at top of screen instead of bottom when character was walking on the bottom half or vice-versa
Also I would make that floor white or white with castle rocky feature
i guess that'll depend on how the text stuff gets recoded.
Logged
Zera
Project Author
LV8
Addict (Next: 1000)
Posts: 737
Rating: +82/-7
Monochrome Artisan
Lost Legends II
«
Reply #126 on:
November 24, 2007, 12:23:00 am »
EDIT: Another question, before I forget it. Can ASM handle multiplication algorithms such as "(value) multiplied by 0.00050"? I want damage formulas to be more complex so certain things don't fall out of use. This is namely with spells, because having a spell cause "16 + (base intelligence value) = damage" wouldn't mean much when your enemies have a defense rating of like 199, and the highest intelligence score a character can have is 99.
So, what is this problem I keep hearing about with grayscale flickering? Obviously, there is a lot of grayscale going on here:
I guess we'll have to include a driver update along with the game, in case anyone attempts to play it on models with said problem. Otherwise, I would really HATE to tone the grayscale down just to compensate for hardware problems.
Logged
DJ Omnimaga
Clacualters are teh gr33t
CoT Emeritus
LV15
Omnimagician (Next: --)
Posts: 55943
Rating: +3154/-232
CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
Lost Legends II
«
Reply #127 on:
November 24, 2007, 03:46:00 am »
you see diagonal scanlines in grayscale, but it isn't very noticeable, not bad enough to make it look bad. In fact, it's a lil like an old TV in antenna mode but much better. Play Desolate by tr1p1ea on this website if you want an example. Flickering may be more on the TI-84+ though, because the LCD refresh rate is too high, but if i remember they managed to make it look almost as good as on the other models
For complex damage formulas (assuming decimals) you need to use floating points because with integers you can't have decimals if i remember, unless you do some calculations.
Logged
Halifax
LV9
Veteran (Next: 1337)
Posts: 1334
Rating: +2/-1
Lost Legends II
«
Reply #128 on:
November 24, 2007, 01:18:00 pm »
Yes, you would have to use TI's API for decimals which are BCD. These things are quite memory consuming(9 bytes), so if there aren't that many decimal values, then I suppose we could do this.
Logged
There are 10 types of people in this world-- those that can read binary, and those that can't.
DJ Omnimaga
Clacualters are teh gr33t
CoT Emeritus
LV15
Omnimagician (Next: --)
Posts: 55943
Rating: +3154/-232
CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
Lost Legends II
«
Reply #129 on:
November 24, 2007, 01:32:00 pm »
Lot of people use floating points in RPGs actually, because not much speed is needed in them.
Btw are signed/unsigned long int and long long int possible in z80 ASM or is it just on 68k calcs?
Logged
Halifax
LV9
Veteran (Next: 1337)
Posts: 1334
Rating: +2/-1
Lost Legends II
«
Reply #130 on:
November 24, 2007, 03:03:00 pm »
Yes they are possible if you write your own routines to manipulate them.
long int = 32 bits
long long int = 64 bits
And it is not the fact that decimals are slow, it is the fact that they take a lot of memory.
Logged
There are 10 types of people in this world-- those that can read binary, and those that can't.
DJ Omnimaga
Clacualters are teh gr33t
CoT Emeritus
LV15
Omnimagician (Next: --)
Posts: 55943
Rating: +3154/-232
CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
Lost Legends II
«
Reply #131 on:
November 24, 2007, 03:28:00 pm »
oh, I thought they were slow, since it's what TI-BASIC uses
Logged
Halifax
LV9
Veteran (Next: 1337)
Posts: 1334
Rating: +2/-1
Lost Legends II
«
Reply #132 on:
November 24, 2007, 03:40:00 pm »
Yeah, well that isn't exactly a good comparison since TI-BASIC goes through a lot more things than directly manipulating them.
Logged
There are 10 types of people in this world-- those that can read binary, and those that can't.
Liazon
Guest
Lost Legends II
«
Reply #133 on:
November 24, 2007, 04:09:00 pm »
QuoteBegin-DJ Omnimaga+24 Nov, 2007, 19:32-->
QUOTE
(DJ Omnimaga @ 24 Nov, 2007, 19:32)
Lot of people use floating points in RPGs actually, because not much speed is needed in them.
Btw are signed/unsigned long int and long long int possible in z80 ASM or is it just on 68k calcs?
you could probably get away with just using logical shifts (divisions by powers of two) since damage would probably get rounded/truncated anyways.
like i mean, most of pokemon's damage formulas are a result of such bitwise manipulation anyways. they didn't put the truncation in there to mess with you, it's just kinda built into how bits and bytes work.
that being said, that's still how they do them in the GB, GBC, GBA, and maybe even NDS generations, because it's not worth bothering w/ fp. besides the fact the new processors probably already have mult/div as instructions.
Logged
Zera
Project Author
LV8
Addict (Next: 1000)
Posts: 737
Rating: +82/-7
Monochrome Artisan
Lost Legends II
«
Reply #134 on:
November 27, 2007, 09:40:00 am »
So, I decided to touch-up the item icons a bit. Given the limited space, I wonder if these are decently legible. In order, they should appear as:
- a sword
- an axe
- a bow
- a staff
- a shield
- a helmet
- a suit of armor
- a ring
- a potion
- a key
Logged
Print
Pages:
1
...
7
8
[
9
]
10
11
Go Up
« previous
next »
Omnimaga
»
Forum
»
Calculator Community
»
Major Community Projects
»
Discontinued
»
Escheron: Shadow over Ragnoth
(Moderators:
Iambian
,
Geekboy1011
,
Zera
) »
Lost Legends II