Welcome,
Guest
. Please
login
or
register
.
Did you miss your
activation email
?
1 Hour
1 Day
1 Week
1 Month
Forever
Login with username, password and session length
Home
About
Team
Rules
Stats
Status
Sitemap
Chat
Downloads
Forum
News
Our Projects
Major Community Projects
Recent Posts
Unread Posts
Replies
Tools
SourceCoder3
Other Things...
Omnimaga Radio
TI-83 Plus ASM File Unsquisher
Z80 Conversion Tools
IES TI File Editor
Free RAM areas
Comprehensive Getkeyr table
URL Shortener
Online Axe Tilemap Editor
Help
Contact Us
Change Request
Report Issue/Bug
Team
Articles
Members
View the memberlist
Search For Members
Buddies
Login
Register
Omnimaga
»
Forum
»
Calculator Community
»
TI Calculators
»
General Calculator Help
»
programming help
« previous
next »
Print
Pages: [
1
]
Go Down
Author
Topic: programming help (Read 10783 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
danny90444
LV3
Member (Next: 100)
Posts: 41
Rating: +0/-0
Physics :)
programming help
«
on:
June 18, 2012, 08:57:34 pm »
HI , I just started programming about a month and a half ago and i know some Ti 84 Basic and Axe parser . I could use some help just learning the language and the commands for both of these languages. Any help would be appreciated and you can email me at
[email protected]
.
P.S. If you want to post or pm any advice please note that i don't understand much of the language even used on this website and will need most of it explained in your message.
Thanks in advance!
Logged
Schrodinger's cat walks into a bar... and doesn't.
Darl181
«Yo buddy, you still alive?»
CoT Emeritus
LV12
Extreme Poster (Next: 5000)
Posts: 3408
Rating: +305/-13
VGhlIEdhbWU=
Re: programming help
«
Reply #1 on:
June 18, 2012, 09:10:30 pm »
For Axe, there's commands list that comes with it. It's also
here
.
It should help to read through documentation.pdf that also comes in the zip (or
here
). That'll probably help the most with the programming terms etc
For Basic commands, you might want to check TI-Basic developer, it has a
good list
, and it explains what the commands do as well.
«
Last Edit: June 18, 2012, 09:11:16 pm by Darl181
»
Logged
Vy'o'us pleorsdti thl'e gjaemue
shmibs
しらす丼
Administrator
LV11
Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
Posts: 2132
Rating: +281/-3
try to be ok, ok?
Re: programming help
«
Reply #2 on:
June 18, 2012, 11:19:20 pm »
hey, you!
darl has some great advice. reading the documentation should always be your first step when trying to learn a new language. beyond that. the easiest way to get help is to think of something specific you want to accomplish (i.e. draw a character that can be moved around the screen, make a simple pong game, or something like that) and then ask on here how you could go about accomplishing it.
good luck!
Logged
Hayleia
Programming Absol
Coder Of Tomorrow
LV12
Extreme Poster (Next: 5000)
Posts: 3367
Rating: +393/-7
Re: programming help
«
Reply #3 on:
June 19, 2012, 01:10:50 am »
(wrong section ?
)
Yes, first make some easy little programs to get used to the difference between both languages. And always keep in mind that Axe is not basic
Logged
I own: 83+ ; 84+SE ; 76.fr ; CX CAS ; Prizm ; 84+CSE
Sorry if I answer with something that seems unrelated, English is not my primary language and I might not have understood well. Sorry if I make English mistakes too.
click here to know where you got your last +1s
DJ Omnimaga
Clacualters are teh gr33t
CoT Emeritus
LV15
Omnimagician (Next: --)
Posts: 55943
Rating: +3154/-232
CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
Re: programming help
«
Reply #4 on:
June 19, 2012, 03:09:49 am »
Also welcome to the forums
Logged
TIfanx1999
ಠ_ಠ ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)
CoT Emeritus
LV13
Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
Posts: 6173
Rating: +191/-9
Re: programming help
«
Reply #5 on:
June 19, 2012, 07:23:21 am »
Hello there danny, welcome to Omnimaga.
Do you have any programs currently in the works? You can create a topic in the appropriate section and show off what you are working on. If you have any specific questions, or need help with your code feel free to ask in the appropriate forum.
Logged
parserp
Hero Extraordinaire
LV10
31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
Posts: 1455
Rating: +88/-7
The King Has Returned
Re: programming help
«
Reply #6 on:
June 19, 2012, 08:25:29 pm »
Agreed with darl. We can't just help you "learn the language", it's better for you to try to do some stuff and post your questions here.
Also hi and welcome to the forums.
Logged
ticalc.org
|
Cemetech
|
TI-Freakware
|
casiocalc.org
danny90444
LV3
Member (Next: 100)
Posts: 41
Rating: +0/-0
Physics :)
Re: programming help
«
Reply #7 on:
June 20, 2012, 09:32:41 pm »
which topic should i have posted this in? Sorry im new so i didnt know where to put it . Im working on a guessing game similar to the one i made in Basic . It would help if someone could explain input like how to get the a person to enter a number . i read the documentation included and the commands.The only thing ive come up with for my game is to guess a single digit number but i dont know what to do after that . If possible could someone explain the 'r' used in axe please
«
Last Edit: June 20, 2012, 09:42:18 pm by danny90444
»
Logged
Schrodinger's cat walks into a bar... and doesn't.
shmibs
しらす丼
Administrator
LV11
Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
Posts: 2132
Rating: +281/-3
try to be ok, ok?
Re: programming help
«
Reply #8 on:
June 20, 2012, 11:39:59 pm »
the built-in input routine in axe isn't really worth using. instead, you should use the getkey command and custom design your own interface. to maintain speed and size optimisation, getkey uses the same values as the OS does, rather than the BASIC getkey layout. numbers 0,1,4,7 are values 33-36, 2,5,8 are 26-28, 3,6,9 are 18-20, and enter is 9.
to test them, just stick a line that says getkey->D (or any other variable) before all your key tests and then have if statements later on that say If D=value (or !If D-value, if you want a faster, but slightly less intelligible version). then you'll have to use the Text or Disp commands to display values.
the little r is accessible through Angle,3, and it's used, for the most part, to indicate that a drawing function should draw to the back buffer rather than the front buffer. one of the main reasons that asm is so much faster than BASIC is that all it's drawing functions update the screen immediately as things are drawn, which requires sending 768 bytes to the LCD every time, while setting a few pixels in axe requires only copying a few bytes to the screen buffer and then sending those values to the LCD manually when you use the DispGraph command. there is also a second buffer, called the back buffer, that can have completely different things drawn to it simultaneously, and it can be drawn through L
6
->DispGraph, or used in tandem with the other buffer to draw greyscale images.
as for where to post, if you're looking for a thread to ask quick questions like this, head on over to
Axe Q&A
, or if you have a more in-depth question, create a new topic in the
Axe Language subforum
.
Logged
Print
Pages: [
1
]
Go Up
« previous
next »
Omnimaga
»
Forum
»
Calculator Community
»
TI Calculators
»
General Calculator Help
»
programming help