Omnimaga

General Discussion => Technology and Development => Other => Topic started by: Spyro543 on April 05, 2013, 09:28:07 am

Title: SP-10 Computer [SP-Assembly!]
Post by: Spyro543 on April 05, 2013, 09:28:07 am
I'm making an 8-bit computer. It won't be like your average computer; no screen or keyboard. Instead it has 8 switches and 3 buttons for input, and 16 LEDs for output. 8 LEDs show the current address you are looking at, and the next 8 show the data in the address. The computer has 256 bytes of RAM. Since the programs are stored in RAM, and the only way to store data is to edit RAM, the program can re-program itself :D There are no registers, instead everything is done with direct RAM addresses. To edit RAM, you put in an address in the 8 switches then hit the ADDR button, which changes the currently open address to the one on the switches. You can press the STORE button to store the number on the switches into the currently open address. The RUN button starts the program from the currently viewed address. I'm not finished with this, I'm still writing the programming, but I do actually have everything breadboarded. It will all be run with a PIC18F46K20 processor. I know it's a bit overkill to use a powerful processor, but it's nice to have four 8-pin ports.

So I have a question for you all: since the programs are stored in RAM, when you turn off the computer, everything in RAM is lost. The PIC processor I am using has an internal EEPROM. When the computer shuts off, should I auto- backup the RAM  to the EEPROM, and then load the EEPROM contents into RAM when the computer is turned back on? Or not? Or maybe do it some other way?

Here  is the planned assembly language for the SP-10 computer; try writing neat programs! When I have the system finished, I will run your guys' programs and make videos of them!
In this table, X and Y just represent arguments.
The table is here (UPDATED TABLE!!) : http://withg.org/spyro543/sp10/index.htm (http://withg.org/spyro543/sp10/index.htm)

Youtube Video:
Title: Re: SP-10 Computer [SP-Assembly!]
Post by: Spyro543 on April 05, 2013, 05:39:47 pm
Good news everyone!!!!! I sucessfully set up the PIC! All it does for now is light up an LED but at least it works!
Title: Re: SP-10 Computer [SP-Assembly!]
Post by: Sorunome on April 05, 2013, 09:28:24 pm
You are making a computer?!?!?!? :crazy:
That is pretty impressive! :D
Title: Re: SP-10 Computer [SP-Assembly!]
Post by: Keoni29 on April 06, 2013, 03:34:55 am
Nice, spyro! Will it look like a miniature version of the Altair 8800?

You are making a computer?!?!?!? :crazy:
That is pretty impressive! :D
I was first: http://ourl.ca/18613
Title: Re: SP-10 Computer [SP-Assembly!]
Post by: Nick on April 06, 2013, 09:31:10 am
Wonderful work, although there are some minor things:
1. You have 3kB of RAM, then why do you only provide 256 bytes RAM memory?
I made a language too, and tbh, 256B is small, so it won't be able to store complex programs.
2. How many MIPS will it run irl, the processor is 16, but what will it be when really running, or don't you have a clue about that yet?
3. Good luck :)

I was first: http://ourl.ca/18613
I'm terribly sorry to say this, but is it really about who's first? We're all making stuff someone surely has done before somewhere (or at least there's a very high chance), so no, you're not first.
Title: Re: SP-10 Computer [SP-Assembly!]
Post by: Spyro543 on April 06, 2013, 10:25:40 am
I was first: http://ourl.ca/18613
I'm terribly sorry to say this, but is it really about who's first? We're all making stuff someone surely has done before somewhere (or at least there's a very high chance), so no, you're not first.
Lol it's ok. His project is gonna turn out much cooler than mine :P

Also yes I guess this will turn out like a mini Altair
Title: Re: SP-10 Computer [SP-Assembly!]
Post by: chickendude on April 06, 2013, 11:57:10 am
I'm curious what exactly it will do without a screen. What sort of programs should we write? I think it's a cool project, i'm just a bit confused :P
Title: Re: SP-10 Computer [SP-Assembly!]
Post by: DJ Omnimaga on April 06, 2013, 01:23:39 pm
Wonderful work, although there are some minor things:
1. You have 3kB of RAM, then why do you only provide 256 bytes RAM memory?
I made a language too, and tbh, 256kB is small, so it won't be able to store complex programs.
It probably depends. The TI-84+ could hold an entire Zelda game (although that was interpreted TI-BASIC plus a few ASM libs) and someone was making a full ASM Zelda clone, so yeah it could certainly host games. Of course games are pointless now though because the computer lacks a screen.
Title: Re: SP-10 Computer [SP-Assembly!]
Post by: Nick on April 06, 2013, 01:45:13 pm
Wonderful work, although there are some minor things:
1. You have 3kB of RAM, then why do you only provide 256 bytes RAM memory?
I made a language too, and tbh, 256B is small, so it won't be able to store complex programs.
It probably depends. The TI-84+ could hold an entire Zelda game (although that was interpreted TI-BASIC plus a few ASM libs) and someone was making a full ASM Zelda clone, so yeah it could certainly host games. Of course games are pointless now though because the computer lacks a screen.
I made a slightly little typo there that divides the amount of RAM by about 1024, maybe you can check again now :)
Title: Re: SP-10 Computer [SP-Assembly!]
Post by: Spyro543 on April 06, 2013, 09:25:57 pm
So has anyone learned SP-ASM? I'd like to see programs you guys have written!
Title: Re: SP-10 Computer [SP-Assembly!]
Post by: Nick on April 07, 2013, 02:24:46 am
So has anyone learned SP-ASM? I'd like to see programs you guys have written!
It's just that I don't really know what to write for it, 3 buttons and 8 leds output is pretty hard to figure something out that is entertaining/useful...
Title: Re: SP-10 Computer [SP-Assembly!]
Post by: MGOS on April 07, 2013, 04:41:48 am
Seems to be interresting project =)
I'd like to request the following commands:
Bit checking can be done by ANDing and comparing, so you might don't need that.
Title: Re: SP-10 Computer [SP-Assembly!]
Post by: Spyro543 on April 07, 2013, 09:01:50 am
Sure, I'll add those in. Now what about the EEPROM problem (talked about in first post)?
Title: Re: SP-10 Computer [SP-Assembly!]
Post by: Keoni29 on April 07, 2013, 09:49:25 am
You should be able to archive programs in eeprom.
Title: Re: SP-10 Computer [SP-Assembly!]
Post by: MGOS on April 07, 2013, 04:01:51 pm
The MCU you are using has 1024 bytes of EEPROM, so I think one should be able to store programs in the EEPROM and maybe select on start up which one you want to run (Enter 0-3 in binary on the switches and press one button to run, another one to edit, etc.). Since Programs are limited to 256 bytes (which is indeed not much) you might want to have a command to load and start another program (like a jump from a line in one program to the first in another). Maybe RUN X or something. When it is the same program you want to run, it will repeat itself. Also, CALL and RETURN would be nice to have (you will need to setup a stack, but shouldn't be too difficult I guess).
Title: Re: SP-10 Computer [SP-Assembly!]
Post by: Spyro543 on April 07, 2013, 10:04:28 pm
Hold on a second, this is meant to be an incredibly simple computer device. I really REALLY like your ideas though. :) I've been planning an SP-15 computer which would use the same or similar instruction set, have an LCD screen, and have multiple program slots, each 256 bytes each. This SP-15 computer will come after the SP-10 is finished though. :)

This might turn out to be a whole computer line I sell and market for student and hobbyist use.
Title: Re: SP-10 Computer [SP-Assembly!]
Post by: Spyro543 on April 11, 2013, 09:09:25 am
UPDATE!!!!!!

Well, I've gotten the memory editor circuit working out fine. You can enter an 8bit number on the switches, press the ADDR button to open the address on the switches, and press DATA to store the number on the switches into that RAM address! Program executing isn't implemented yet (it'll be a while). Video coming later!
Title: Re: SP-10 Computer [SP-Assembly!]
Post by: Spyro543 on April 11, 2013, 09:04:04 pm
I've updated the table http://withg.org/spyro543/sp10/index.htm (http://withg.org/spyro543/sp10/index.htm)
And there's a Youtube video now!
Title: Re: SP-10 Computer [SP-Assembly!]
Post by: MGOS on April 12, 2013, 01:25:12 am
Nice :) that opens a lot more possibilities. A question: are RTR and    RTL shift or rotate instructions? The discription says shift, the name rotate.
Title: Re: SP-10 Computer [SP-Assembly!]
Post by: Keoni29 on April 12, 2013, 05:29:33 am
Man, you should totally get some of these switches:
http://www.ebay.com/itm/5-X-Green-Momentary-On-Off-Push-Button-Micro-Switch-NEW-/350764915239?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item51ab37da27
http://www.ebay.com/itm/2-Pcs-Toggle-Switch-DPDT-on-on-2-position-super-mini-3A125VAC-blue-New-STDD-/281090792532?pt=US_Home_Audio_Amplifiers_Preamps&hash=item4172511c54
Title: Re: SP-10 Computer [SP-Assembly!]
Post by: Spyro543 on April 12, 2013, 06:39:49 am
Nice :) that opens a lot more possibilities. A question: are RTR and    RTL shift or rotate instructions? The discription says shift, the name rotate.
Yes; I thought shifting and rotating the bits are the same thing. Are they the same thing?
Title: Re: SP-10 Computer [SP-Assembly!]
Post by: Nick on April 12, 2013, 11:00:47 am
No, when shifting, the 'new' bits are filled with '0' (or '1' if it's signed and right shift)
When rotating, the bit that leaves the byte/word etc is added to the end, so when shifting right, bit 0 (LSB) becomes MSB.

So there's quite a difference in usage too
Title: Re: SP-10 Computer [SP-Assembly!]
Post by: Spyro543 on April 22, 2013, 09:31:26 am
I just want you all to know.... This is not dead!

I have about a third of the instruction set programmed. I'm still working on getting the CP instruction working though. I've also been showing this off in school a bit, it gets quite a bit of interest! :P
Title: Re: SP-10 Computer [SP-Assembly!]
Post by: utz on April 22, 2013, 12:10:47 pm
Very interesting project. If you'd be willing to connect one of the LED outputs to a line-out, I might try to write a simple sound output routine at some point.