Omnimaga

General Discussion => Technology and Development => Other => Topic started by: MGOS on April 03, 2013, 06:17:29 am

Title: Your 83+'s display is too small?
Post by: MGOS on April 03, 2013, 06:17:29 am
I had an WG240128b graphics LCD (with the famous T6963 chip) lying around and I finally got it working with my 83+ :)
The interface is quite slow at the moment, because the arduino I'm using has not enough RAM (only one k) to store the whole content of the screen, so I displayed it pixel by pixel. I'm sure it can be done significantly faster when I manage my 84 MHz / 96 kB DUE to work with it.
The display is 240 x 128 pixels, so I scaled up the screen in both directions by the factor 2.

On the calculator side I made an application with a key hook which transmits the screen serially when you press a certain key (in this case ln) at any point in the OS.

Title: Re: Your 83+'s display is too small?
Post by: Adriweb on April 03, 2013, 06:21:28 am
Well, that's an impressive hack, congratulations :)
Title: Re: Your 83+'s display is too small?
Post by: Lionel Debroux on April 03, 2013, 06:46:52 am
Nifty :)
In order to spread the word, I've cross-posted it at http://ti-pla.net/t11501 .

I take it that have more than 256 bytes of data in the Arduino's RAM for the purposes of your program, so indeed, storing a 768-byte screen wholesale won't do...
Title: Re: Your 83+'s display is too small?
Post by: MGOS on April 03, 2013, 06:52:50 am
Thanks :)

You would need at least 3.8 k (240/8*128) of RAM since the displaying process is the bottleneck of this system. I can transmit the data from the calc to the arduino quite quickly, but the plotting takes a lot of time. When I could use the plot functions on a screen sized buffer and shift out the whole buffer at once, it would be a lot faster.
Title: Re: Your 83+'s display is too small?
Post by: Lionel Debroux on April 03, 2013, 07:05:19 am
Oh, but you're talking about having a buffer the size of the target screen. OK :)
The TI-68k series has a 240x128 screen area as well.
Title: Re: Your 83+'s display is too small?
Post by: TIfanx1999 on April 03, 2013, 07:15:51 am
Hey, that looks pretty cool MGOS! :D
Title: Re: Your 83+'s display is too small?
Post by: willrandship on April 03, 2013, 07:43:58 am
You should post your code. I'd love to poke around for optimizations!

What arduino are you working with, anyway? From the sound of it it's an older one, with an atmega168. You can actually buy preprogrammed drop in replacements that have double the RAM.

Although, I might be able to work enough variables into the Flash program rather than RAM, so you could actually fit the screen.
Title: Re: Your 83+'s display is too small?
Post by: MGOS on April 03, 2013, 08:03:43 am
I'm already optimizing :)
Indeed, I'm using an just an atmega168, but it should work with the Due as well. The main problems I see is in the library I'm using. Since the atmega168 has not a single port that is accessible at once, so the lib uses to ports and bitshifts the data. On the due you could use the entire port D (or at least the lower quarter of it). Another thing is that the every pixel is written seperately, which causes a lot of unneeded communication of the LCD with the arduino (calculate the address, get the byte in the lcd memory, mask it with the new pixel, write it again). That are the two points I'm trying to optimize.
Title: Re: Your 83+'s display is too small?
Post by: willrandship on April 03, 2013, 08:05:20 am
Do I not get to see code? :'(

Also, if you use the softwareserial library, you can free up port D for pin usage.
Title: Re: Your 83+'s display is too small?
Post by: MGOS on April 03, 2013, 09:15:21 am
Here it is, not much to it actually. I used the library found here http://arduino.cc/forum/index.php?PHPSESSID=6f0bdb4afd44e5fdfbdb5b6651cc475a&topic=22624.msg171044#msg171044

I think I'm going to rewrite the whole thing to work with the Due.

Spoiler For Arduino C++:
Code: [Select]
#include <T6963.h>
#include <T6963_Commands.h>

#define CLK 13
#define DAT 12

T6963 lcd(240,128,6);

void setup()   {
  lcd.Initialize();
  lcd.clearCG(); // Clear character generator area
  lcd.clearGraphic(); // Clear graphic area
  lcd.clearText();
  pinMode(CLK,INPUT);
  pinMode(DAT,INPUT);
}



void loop()    {
  for (byte y = 0; y < 128; y +=2){
    for (byte x = 0; x < 192; x+=2){    
        while (!digitalRead(CLK));
        int c = digitalRead(DAT);  
        lcd.setPixel(x,y,c);
        lcd.setPixel(x+1,y,c);
        lcd.setPixel(x+1,y+1,c);
        lcd.setPixel(x,y+1,c);
        while (digitalRead(CLK));
        delayMicroseconds(1);  //Needed for a stable connection, you could also use some asm("nop");
        
    }
  }
}

The axe code is really inefficient, I know. But it can be because the lcd needs that much time. I will use direct buffer access and shift out the main buffer serially in later versions. I just kept that for readability:
Spoiler For Axe code:
Code: [Select]
StoreGDB
FnOff
For(Y,0,63)
For(X,0,95)
pxlTest(X,Y)?0,1
->port
For(200):End
3->port
For(200):End
EndIf getKey(15)
EndIf getKey(15)
LnReg

Use this instead:
Spoiler For Idea:
Code: [Select]
StoreGDB
FnOff
For(I,L6,L6+767)
{I}->B
For(8)
B . 128?0,1  //bitwise and b1000000 to get the MSB
->port
For(whatever):End
3->port
B*2->B //shift left
For(whatever):End
End
EndIf getKey(15)
LnReg
Title: Re: Your 83+'s display is too small?
Post by: Keoni29 on April 03, 2013, 09:18:19 am
Using direct buffer reads will at least make this 8 times faster if not 16 times :P Good job. Now try to use a color screen :)
Title: Re: Your 83+'s display is too small?
Post by: MGOS on April 03, 2013, 09:33:15 am
Using direct buffer reads will at least make this 8 times faster if not 16 times
I know. But that's not the bottleneck at the moment. I also posted the version with direct buffer reads.

Now try to use a color screen :)
Haha :D custom upgrade to a 83+C

wait... my father gave me this a while ago (they wanted to throw it away D: ) :
Spoiler For Spoiler:
Comparison:
(http://img.removedfromgame.com/imgs/2013-04-03_15-25-47_662.jpg)
Look at the date :P
(http://img.removedfromgame.com/imgs/2013-04-03_15-27-24_76.jpg)
Title: Re: Your 83+'s display is too small?
Post by: Keoni29 on April 03, 2013, 09:35:17 am
Lucky. My father brings in semi old PC's every once in a while. Semi old is the kind of old you have to upgrade in order to sell because nobody wants it :P
Title: Re: Your 83+'s display is too small?
Post by: willrandship on April 03, 2013, 09:45:22 am
I'm working on a modification that reads and writes bytes at a time. It should also be easy to make your axe code give bytes instead as well.
Title: Re: Your 83+'s display is too small?
Post by: tr1p1ea on April 03, 2013, 09:49:43 am
Realy impressive job, i like it! (I think i have one of those LCD's lying around too :)).
Title: Re: Your 83+'s display is too small?
Post by: willrandship on April 03, 2013, 09:53:48 am
Here we go! Can't test it myself, as I don't have the screen. :P Try it out!

Code: [Select]
#include <T6963.h>
#include <T6963_Commands.h>

#define CLK 13
#define DAT 12

T6963 lcd(240,128,6);

void setup()   {
  lcd.Initialize();
  lcd.clearCG(); // Clear character generator area
  lcd.clearGraphic(); // Clear graphic area
  lcd.clearText();
  pinMode(CLK,INPUT);
  pinMode(DAT,INPUT);
}



void loop()    {
  for (byte y = 0; y < 128; y +=2){
    for (byte x = 0; x < 192; x+=16){     
for (byte b = 0; b < 8; b++){
//Grab a byte of pixels. Ideally you would alter the axe side to make this a single read.
while (!digitalRead(CLK));{
byte c;
c = digitalRead(DAT);
c << 1; // shifts the pixel to the next slot.

//The necessary clock delay
while (digitalRead(CLK));
delayMicroseconds(1);  //Needed for a stable connection, you could also use some asm("nop");
}

}


//This scales it to 2 bytes.
byte write0 = (c & 0b10000000);
byte write0 = (c & 0b10000000) >> 1;
byte write0 = (c & 0b01000000);
byte write0 = (c & 0b01000000) >> 1;
byte write0 = (c & 0b00100000);
byte write0 = (c & 0b00100000) >> 1;
byte write0 = (c & 0b00010000);
byte write0 = (c & 0b00010000) >> 1;

byte write1 = (c & 0b00001000);
byte write1 = (c & 0b00001000) >> 1;
byte write1 = (c & 0b00000100);
byte write1 = (c & 0b00000100) >> 1;
byte write1 = (c & 0b00000010);
byte write1 = (c & 0b00000010) >> 1;
byte write1 = (c & 0b00000001);
byte write1 = (c & 0b00000001) >> 1;

//This section writes all the bytes, hopefully in the right places.
lcd.GraphicGoTo(x,y);
lcd.WriteData(write0);
lcd.GraphicGoTo(x,y+1);
lcd.WriteData(write0);
lcd.GraphicGoTo(x+8,y);
lcd.WriteData(write1);
lcd.GraphicGoTo(x+8,y+1);
lcd.WriteData(write1);
       
        //lcd.setPixel(x,y,c);
        //lcd.setPixel(x+1,y,c);
        //lcd.setPixel(x+1,y+1,c);
        //lcd.setPixel(x,y+1,c);
       
       
       
    }
  }
}
Title: Re: Your 83+'s display is too small?
Post by: MGOS on April 03, 2013, 10:41:59 am
Thanks  :) - I don't get how the scaling up works though :/ . You defined write0 and write1 a bunch of times - which one is the correct?
It would be also possible to shift two bits left when receiving a byte and then multiplying the whole 16 bits by 3 (to fill in the gaps) :

Code: [Select]
u_int16 c = 0;
for (byte b = 0; b < 8; b++){
    while (!digitalRead(CLK));
    c = c << 2;
    c |= digitalRead(DAT);
    
    while (digitalRead(CLK));
    delayMicroseconds(1);
}
c *= 3;  //the arduino features an "On-chip 2-cycle multiplier" :)
//now the high byte of c is write0 and the low byte is write1
Title: Re: Your 83+'s display is too small?
Post by: Dapianokid on April 03, 2013, 12:55:46 pm
I would pay for this if people could use a color screen on a monochrome calculator. Somebody should program an Axe AXIOM for it :D
Title: Re: Your 83+'s display is too small?
Post by: willrandship on April 03, 2013, 01:13:39 pm
OH :P Those should be += or |= defines after the first one. But yes, that's the idea.
Title: Re: Your 83+'s display is too small?
Post by: Keoni29 on April 03, 2013, 01:48:11 pm
It would be slow as heck if it was sending data over the I/O port though. My custom link protocol can send max 2k every second. A color LCD of 320x240 with a color depth of 8 bits would be 76800 bytes. It would take 38.4 seconds to draw the entire screen. (add the time it would take for the arduino to that)
Title: Re: Your 83+'s display is too small?
Post by: willrandship on April 03, 2013, 02:00:08 pm
Well, we're still talking about a 96*64 screen here. That's only 768 bytes.
Title: Re: Your 83+'s display is too small?
Post by: Keoni29 on April 03, 2013, 02:02:12 pm
It would still take about 0.5 s to update.
Title: Re: Your 83+'s display is too small?
Post by: willrandship on April 03, 2013, 02:04:23 pm
True. That's where things like partial screen updates need to come in. It would require more work on the calc's part, but the results would be worth it.
Title: Re: Your 83+'s display is too small?
Post by: DJ Omnimaga on April 03, 2013, 03:03:19 pm
Very interesting. I like it as well. :) I wonder if it could be made faster so that even larger LCDs can be used and refreshed nearly in real time for use in front of a math class?
Title: Re: Your 83+'s display is too small?
Post by: willrandship on April 03, 2013, 03:38:02 pm
well, if you want big LCDs, just use a small one and a projector. The issue is resolution, and the only reason that's an issue is because the transition is being handled by an arduino over a slow serial connection.

With more specialized hardware, this could easily handle far bigger, more colorful screens, as long as you don't mind it running at 1 FPS or less.
Title: Re: Your 83+'s display is too small?
Post by: Keoni29 on April 03, 2013, 03:55:23 pm
Are there TI calculators with a regular z80 in them? I mean a stand alone processor and not inside an ASIC. That way you could just use I/O functions to drive a color screen which is much faster than driving it over the linkport.
Title: Re: Your 83+'s display is too small?
Post by: MGOS on April 03, 2013, 04:56:17 pm
Yes the old 83+s had a z80 as seen here (http://www.cemetech.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=5472&start=1).

There is also the teacher version (http://datamath.org/Graphing/TI-83PLUS_SE_VSC.htm) which has an extra parallel port to attach a screen for over head projectors (ViewScreen). Our maths teacher sometimes brings one of these to his lessons to show us how to do something (or let me do that :P)
And the TI Presenter (http://education.ti.com/en/us/products/accessories/presentation-tools/ti-presenter/features/features-summary) which outputs a signal for a conventional TV.

Edit:
It would be slow as heck if it was sending data over the I/O port though. My custom link protocol can send max 2k every second. A color LCD of 320x240 with a color depth of 8 bits would be 76800 bytes. It would take 38.4 seconds to draw the entire screen. (add the time it would take for the arduino to that)
Of course you could never do all the calculations on the calc and display the screen every time. If one had an easy to use graphics library (on the arduino!) for this screen with all the important functions a game needs (sprites, bitmaps, pixel, rectangles, circles, lines, scrolling, text, ...), it could be done I guess :)


Well, we're still talking about a 96*64 screen here. That's only 768 bytes.
Well who needed a color display that is that small :P the one I showed in an earlier post is 640*480.... when we go even further - what about an HDMI adapter :D :D
Title: Re: Your 83+'s display is too small?
Post by: Dapianokid on April 03, 2013, 06:00:42 pm
:D :D

MGOS, that would end up being quite slow to do anything of value hehe
Title: Re: Your 83+'s display is too small?
Post by: DJ Omnimaga on April 04, 2013, 12:02:04 am
I remember the TI presenter. I think BrandonW made a video of it in action before. It seemed slow, if I remember, and it sold for $399 or something.
Title: Re: Your 83+'s display is too small?
Post by: willrandship on April 04, 2013, 05:05:51 am
That teacher screen actually hooks directly into the LCD signaling. There's no software interface involved. No way I know of to use that without interfering with the regular LCD.

The TI-Presenter used USB communication instead, so it worked with any calc, but it suffered the same problem this does, just like DJ mentions. It was very slow.

If you really want to get going, why not VGA? Just a few pins with some resistors and you can get a few colors.
Title: Re: Your 83+'s display is too small?
Post by: MGOS on April 04, 2013, 07:46:48 am
For any advanced color display (be it VGA or the the Sharp screen I posted) you need an extremely fast MCU to refresh the screen all along. You would need a graphics chip to handle this, even the arduino due (which finally works with the display! I will post the library later) wouldn't be fast enough too get a decent picture. The Sharp screen came with a graphics card which outputs Digital or VGA, I just don't know how to use it (it's 20 years old :P). It's a VAMP535 V1.00.
Title: Re: Your 83+'s display is too small?
Post by: Keoni29 on April 04, 2013, 07:50:40 am
I really want one of those old 83+ with a z80 in it. Imagine the possibilities with hardware I/O. Hook up any resolution screen without having to worry about OS routines! To write a byte from ram to the screen just do:
ld a, (nn)
out (n), a
Only if the screen driver can keep up with the cpu though. Otherwise some additional circuitry might be required.
Title: Re: Your 83+'s display is too small?
Post by: MGOS on April 04, 2013, 10:07:58 am
Ok, I have rewritten the T6963 library for the Due :). The display can now be written a lot faster than before. I also used direct buffer reads to transmit the buffer from the calc (and no delay!). You may gain a bit more speed if you do it in asm, if you care :P it takes about 304 milliseconds for one screen (sending and displaying).

Axe code:
Code: [Select]
3->port
StoreGDB
FnOff
For(I,L6,L6+767)
{I}->B
For(8)
B . 128?0,1
->port
B*2->B
3->port
End
End
LnReg

Arduino code:
Code: [Select]
#include <T6963due.h>
#include <T6963due_Commands.h>

#define CLK 13
#define DAT 12

T6963 lcd(240,128,8,24);
byte pic[3840] = {0};

unsigned long start;
int t;
bool taken;

void setup()   {
  lcd.Initialize();
  lcd.clearCG(); // Clear character generator area
  lcd.clearGraphic(); // Clear graphic area
  lcd.clearText();
  pinMode(CLK,INPUT);
  pinMode(DAT,INPUT);
}



void loop()    {
  taken = false;
  while (digitalRead(CLK));
  for (int y = 0; y<64; y++){
    for (int n = 0; n < 12; n++){
      int c = 0;
      for (byte b = 0; b < 8; b++){
          while (!digitalRead(CLK));
          if (!taken) {start = millis(); taken = true;}
          c = c << 2;
          c |= digitalRead(DAT);
          lcd.n_delay();
          while (digitalRead(CLK));
          lcd.n_delay();
      }
      c *= 3;     
      pic[n*2+y*60] = c>>8;
      pic[n*2+y*60+30] = c>>8;
      pic[n*2+y*60+1] = c&0xFF;
      pic[n*2+y*60+31] = c&0xFF;
    }
  }
  lcd.DispBuff(pic);
  t = millis()-start;
  lcd.TextGoTo(25,15);
  lcd.WriteChar(t/100+'0');
  lcd.WriteChar((t%100)/10+'0');
  lcd.WriteChar(t%10+'0');
  lcd.WriteChar('m');
  lcd.WriteChar('s');
}


Video:
(the time needed to transmit and display is shown in the bottom right corner)



The arduino due library for the T6963:
Title: Re: Your 83+'s display is too small?
Post by: Dapianokid on April 04, 2013, 10:10:11 am
For any advanced color display (be it VGA or the the Sharp screen I posted) you need an extremely fast MCU to refresh the screen all along. You would need a graphics chip to handle this, even the arduino due (which finally works with the display! I will post the library later) wouldn't be fast enough too get a decent picture. The Sharp screen came with a graphics card which outputs Digital or VGA, I just don't know how to use it (it's 20 years old :P). It's a VAMP535 V1.00.

I have an old monitor with similar specs. Maybe we should hang out and find some tools, a few hours later, Omnimaga would be wowed again xD
Title: Re: Your 83+'s display is too small?
Post by: Keoni29 on April 04, 2013, 10:21:36 am
Look what benryves made: http://benryves.com/products/tvdemonstrator. It outputs composite instead of vga though.
Title: Re: Your 83+'s display is too small?
Post by: MGOS on April 04, 2013, 10:38:35 am
Look what benryves made: http://benryves.com/products/tvdemonstrator. It outputs composite instead of vga though.
Wow, that's cool. It's interesting that he uses the screenshot function. I know that there is one, but I don't know how to use it...

I don't know if VGA or composite is really necessary for what I'm doing right know - it would be also 2 colors. I think you feel the main advantages not before you have a working graphics chip with a library which does all the tedious work (storage, text, plotting, ...) for you and then use serial commands to tell the chip what to do.
Title: Re: Your 83+'s display is too small?
Post by: Dapianokid on April 04, 2013, 12:43:43 pm
I actually looked that thing up awhile back and almost made one because my Dad was interested lol.
Yeah, most of the work done in this case will have to be done by the Arduino board/modified video card
Title: Re: Your 83+'s display is too small?
Post by: willrandship on April 05, 2013, 08:40:29 am
That's a lot faster than before! Good job!
Title: Re: Your 83+'s display is too small?
Post by: Sorunome on April 05, 2013, 09:05:28 pm
Wow, that is looking pretty cool, awesome job!
Title: Re: Your 83+'s display is too small?
Post by: DJ Omnimaga on June 07, 2013, 11:51:53 pm
I'm a bit late, but I'm impressed by the speed increase. I wonder if you could eventually do a video where a game is played?