Author Topic: KnightOS  (Read 204337 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline jnesselr

  • King Graphmastur
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2270
  • Rating: +81/-20
  • TAO == epic
    • View Profile
Re: KnightOS
« Reply #765 on: January 15, 2011, 05:14:15 pm »
Full 8XU, we have the signing keys after all :)

I thought I read somewhere that KOS couuld be installed from an app, I mean. I can't download .8xus directly, because I always transfer things through someone else's 84+, so I was wondering if the beta would have an .8xk installer.
I'm not sure how it would work...The installation time would be horrendous and it would take a lot of tricky coding.
Why can't you download .8xu's may I ask? (I'd be willing to give you some help with getting it to work if you want)

It's just what willranship said: I have a calc-to-calc cable and a USB cable, but no silverlink.
Okay, so I'm sure that we can still work that out.  Using the calc-calc cable, and an adapter, I bet I could write a program that would transfer stuff.  Maybe, I can't be certain on that. But I bet it could at least transfer an OS. Do you have an arduino?

Offline Deep Toaster

  • So much to do, so much time, so little motivation
  • Administrator
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *************
  • Posts: 8217
  • Rating: +758/-15
    • View Profile
    • ClrHome
Re: KnightOS
« Reply #766 on: January 15, 2011, 05:27:23 pm »
Full 8XU, we have the signing keys after all :)

I thought I read somewhere that KOS couuld be installed from an app, I mean. I can't download .8xus directly, because I always transfer things through someone else's 84+, so I was wondering if the beta would have an .8xk installer.
I'm not sure how it would work...The installation time would be horrendous and it would take a lot of tricky coding.
Why can't you download .8xu's may I ask? (I'd be willing to give you some help with getting it to work if you want)

It's just what willranship said: I have a calc-to-calc cable and a USB cable, but no silverlink.
Okay, so I'm sure that we can still work that out.  Using the calc-calc cable, and an adapter, I bet I could write a program that would transfer stuff.  Maybe, I can't be certain on that. But I bet it could at least transfer an OS. Do you have an arduino?

Nope. I'd get a silverlink, but my parents don't even know about the prgm'ing.

Thanks, though.
« Last Edit: January 15, 2011, 05:28:09 pm by Deep Thought »




Offline jnesselr

  • King Graphmastur
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2270
  • Rating: +81/-20
  • TAO == epic
    • View Profile
Re: KnightOS
« Reply #767 on: January 15, 2011, 05:27:51 pm »
Full 8XU, we have the signing keys after all :)

I thought I read somewhere that KOS couuld be installed from an app, I mean. I can't download .8xus directly, because I always transfer things through someone else's 84+, so I was wondering if the beta would have an .8xk installer.
I'm not sure how it would work...The installation time would be horrendous and it would take a lot of tricky coding.
Why can't you download .8xu's may I ask? (I'd be willing to give you some help with getting it to work if you want)

It's just what willranship said: I have a calc-to-calc cable and a USB cable, but no silverlink.
Okay, so I'm sure that we can still work that out.  Using the calc-calc cable, and an adapter, I bet I could write a program that would transfer stuff.  Maybe, I can't be certain on that. But I bet it could at least transfer an OS. Do you have an arduino?

Nope. I'd get a silverlink, but my parents don't even know about the prgm'ing.
Oh, okay.  Good luck then.

Offline Binder News

  • LV8 Addict (Next: 1000)
  • ********
  • Posts: 785
  • Rating: +46/-3
  • Zombie of Tomorrow
    • View Profile
Re: KnightOS
« Reply #768 on: January 15, 2011, 05:28:00 pm »
lol
Spoiler For userbars:







Hacker-in-training!   Z80 Assembly Programmer     Axe Programmer
C++ H4X0R             Java Coder                           I <3 Python!

Perdidisti ludum     Cerebrum non habes

"We are humans first, no matter what."
"Fame is a vapor, popularity an accident, and riches take wings. Only one thing endures, and that is character."
Spoiler For Test Results:





Offline willrandship

  • Omnimagus of the Multi-Base.
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2953
  • Rating: +98/-13
  • Insert sugar to begin programming subroutine.
    • View Profile
Re: KnightOS
« Reply #769 on: January 15, 2011, 06:50:55 pm »
If you're hardware handy you could make your own serial or parallel linker :P

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Clacualters are teh gr33t
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55943
  • Rating: +3154/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • Dream of Omnimaga Music
Re: KnightOS
« Reply #770 on: January 16, 2011, 03:09:09 pm »
If there's a 8xk installer, I assume it will copy itself in the appropriate area of the Flash ROM then overwrite the entire OS before deleting itself, right? Does the VAT work the same way for flash apps? I wonder if that could be a problem? (the app being at a variable location)

Offline jnesselr

  • King Graphmastur
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2270
  • Rating: +81/-20
  • TAO == epic
    • View Profile
Re: KnightOS
« Reply #771 on: January 16, 2011, 03:34:25 pm »
If there's a 8xk installer, I assume it will copy itself in the appropriate area of the Flash ROM then overwrite the entire OS before deleting itself, right? Does the VAT work the same way for flash apps? I wonder if that could be a problem? (the app being at a variable location)
The app isn't variable at all.  Let's see, the best way I can think to do it would be to call the app which is always located at 0x4000.  Then, delete page 0, change execution so that it can run anywhere in memory, and then swap the other pages of the apps out so that they can overwrite stuff wherever they need to.  Technically, he could make it where booting of KOS made the filesystem if it wasn't there before.

SirCmpwn

  • Guest
Re: KnightOS
« Reply #772 on: January 16, 2011, 04:55:50 pm »
graphmastur is right.  Because KnightOS is so small, the app installer would only be a few pages, I predict no more than three.  It would clear out the appropriate sectors, and copy KnightOS to each one.  Then it would reboot, KnightOS would run the installer, and viola, you have KOS.

Offline Eeems

  • Mr. Dictator
  • Administrator
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *************
  • Posts: 6266
  • Rating: +318/-36
  • little oof
    • View Profile
    • Eeems
Re: KnightOS
« Reply #773 on: January 16, 2011, 07:24:08 pm »
I'm thinking we should also compress the installer app a bunch to save room, so maybe possibly we could get it down to two pages?
/e

SirCmpwn

  • Guest
Re: KnightOS
« Reply #774 on: January 16, 2011, 07:25:32 pm »
I can definitely get the current version of KnightOS to fit in one page.  Two pages could be feasible down the line, without compression.

Offline Eeems

  • Mr. Dictator
  • Administrator
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *************
  • Posts: 6266
  • Rating: +318/-36
  • little oof
    • View Profile
    • Eeems
Re: KnightOS
« Reply #775 on: January 16, 2011, 07:34:51 pm »
Ok :) Still thinking that compressing it down a page would be nice though.
Also, any more thought about compressing the actual OS stuff?
/e

SirCmpwn

  • Guest
Re: KnightOS
« Reply #776 on: January 16, 2011, 07:35:37 pm »
Compression might happen, but it will be slow already.  And it will be the last app you will ever install on your calculator under TIOS, so I'm not too worried about size.
« Last Edit: January 16, 2011, 07:35:59 pm by SirCmpwn »

Offline Binder News

  • LV8 Addict (Next: 1000)
  • ********
  • Posts: 785
  • Rating: +46/-3
  • Zombie of Tomorrow
    • View Profile
Re: KnightOS
« Reply #777 on: January 16, 2011, 07:41:10 pm »
Will there be a way to put TiOS back on? My parents might be mad if I had a different OS on my calc.
« Last Edit: January 16, 2011, 07:42:06 pm by Binder News »
Spoiler For userbars:







Hacker-in-training!   Z80 Assembly Programmer     Axe Programmer
C++ H4X0R             Java Coder                           I <3 Python!

Perdidisti ludum     Cerebrum non habes

"We are humans first, no matter what."
"Fame is a vapor, popularity an accident, and riches take wings. Only one thing endures, and that is character."
Spoiler For Test Results:





SirCmpwn

  • Guest
Re: KnightOS
« Reply #778 on: January 16, 2011, 07:43:44 pm »
Yes, there will be a way.  You can always pull a battery and put it back in with DEL held down.

Offline Binder News

  • LV8 Addict (Next: 1000)
  • ********
  • Posts: 785
  • Rating: +46/-3
  • Zombie of Tomorrow
    • View Profile
Re: KnightOS
« Reply #779 on: January 16, 2011, 07:45:17 pm »
What will that do?
Spoiler For userbars:







Hacker-in-training!   Z80 Assembly Programmer     Axe Programmer
C++ H4X0R             Java Coder                           I <3 Python!

Perdidisti ludum     Cerebrum non habes

"We are humans first, no matter what."
"Fame is a vapor, popularity an accident, and riches take wings. Only one thing endures, and that is character."
Spoiler For Test Results: