Author Topic: Axe Parser  (Read 534722 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline meishe91

  • Super Ninja
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2946
  • Rating: +115/-11
    • View Profile
    • DeviantArt
Re: Axe Parser
« Reply #405 on: April 11, 2010, 07:29:14 pm »
So, I'm assuming that the point of prgmA and prgmB is to display "RAWR" when prgmB is run through Axe Parser while writing this.

So I tried what SirCmpwn said and these are the results I got:

Code: [Select]
PROGRAM:A
"RAWR

PROGRAM:B
"prgma"→Str1
Disp Str1

Output:
►A__________Done

PROGRAM:C
"prgmA"→Str1 //"prgm" is typed out.
Disp Str1

Output:
prgmA_______Done

prgmB and prgmC were the programs run through Axe Parser.
Spoiler For Spoiler:



For the 51st time, that is not my card! (Magic Joke)

Offline Raylin

  • Godslayer
  • LV10 31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
  • **********
  • Posts: 1392
  • Rating: +83/-25
  • I am a certifiable squirrel ninja.
    • View Profile
    • Ray M. Perry
Re: Axe Parser
« Reply #406 on: April 11, 2010, 07:33:28 pm »
None of that worked, SirCmpwn. :(

Remember, I am trying to make the calc display RAWR.

EDIT: ninja'd.
« Last Edit: April 11, 2010, 07:34:52 pm by Raylin »
Bug me about my book.

Sarah: TI-83 Plus Silver Edition [OS 1.19]
Cassie: TI-86 [OS 1.XX]
Elizabeth: TI-81 [OS 1.XX]
Jehuty: TI-83 Plus Silver Edition [OS 1.19]
Tesla: CASIO Prizm







Offline Quigibo

  • The Executioner
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • *
  • Posts: 2031
  • Rating: +1075/-24
  • I wish real life had a "Save" and "Load" button...
    • View Profile
Re: Axe Parser
« Reply #407 on: April 11, 2010, 07:53:10 pm »
Its exactly the same as appvars.  It would have to be like this:

Code: [Select]
Prgm A:
:RAWR  <--No quotes here, we're reading raw data.

PrgmAXE:
:"prgmA"->Str1
:GetCalc(Str1)->P
:For(A,0,3)
:Disp {P+A}>Frac
:End

Since the string isn't zero terminated you can't just display it like a regular string. (or maybe it is at the end of the program, I dunno)
« Last Edit: April 11, 2010, 07:58:09 pm by Raylin »
___Axe_Parser___
Today the calculator, tomorrow the world!

Offline meishe91

  • Super Ninja
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2946
  • Rating: +115/-11
    • View Profile
    • DeviantArt
Re: Axe Parser
« Reply #408 on: April 11, 2010, 08:04:55 pm »
Yup, that works. Makes a lot of sense too. Thanks, Quigibo. I knew you had to have GetCalc( somewhere but wasn't sure how to use it.

@Quigibo
I was looking at prgmCOUNTER and was trying to retype it in by hand (for practice and such) and wasn't able to make it work because the "v" you store in Str1 at the beginning of the string was a different one. Where is that token found or is it something else that is going wrong?
Anyone can answer this, just wasn't sure what was going on and it's his example.
« Last Edit: April 11, 2010, 08:45:46 pm by meishe91 »
Spoiler For Spoiler:



For the 51st time, that is not my card! (Magic Joke)

Offline ACagliano

  • LV8 Addict (Next: 1000)
  • ********
  • Posts: 919
  • Rating: +32/-2
    • View Profile
    • ClrHome Productions
Re: Axe Parser
« Reply #409 on: April 11, 2010, 08:38:41 pm »
Can Axe read from a program that is locked?

Offline meishe91

  • Super Ninja
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2946
  • Rating: +115/-11
    • View Profile
    • DeviantArt
Re: Axe Parser
« Reply #410 on: April 11, 2010, 09:20:16 pm »
Just tried it and yes it does.
Spoiler For Spoiler:



For the 51st time, that is not my card! (Magic Joke)

Offline Quigibo

  • The Executioner
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • *
  • Posts: 2031
  • Rating: +1075/-24
  • I wish real life had a "Save" and "Load" button...
    • View Profile
Re: Axe Parser
« Reply #411 on: April 11, 2010, 10:53:02 pm »
@Quigibo
I was looking at prgmCOUNTER and was trying to retype it in by hand (for practice and such) and wasn't able to make it work because the "v" you store in Str1 at the beginning of the string was a different one. Where is that token found or is it something else that is going wrong?
Anyone can answer this, just wasn't sure what was going on and it's his example.

I shall quote myself.
Quote
That 'v' is the prefix for appvars and is not the lowercase 'v', its the one on the [2nd][8] button.
___Axe_Parser___
Today the calculator, tomorrow the world!

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Clacualters are teh gr33t
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55943
  • Rating: +3154/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • Dream of Omnimaga Music
Re: Axe Parser
« Reply #412 on: April 11, 2010, 11:01:28 pm »
While you can run executable code from another program, its way too dangerous, so I'm not going to support it right now.  But you can with assembly commands.  Anyway, the main usage is for reading and writing to programs.  Like if you made a new program with HELLO as the first line, you can read that just like you read an appvar, and also write over and modify it.  The advantage is that appvars are not easily editable.  So if you want to make an external level pack come with your game, you might want to consider using a program instead so levels can easily be edited.
Oh, personally I am not certain if I would want to do this, especially if I can use internal sub-routines. What I thought about is reading external data like tilemaps and the like. See for example Metroid II: Evolution. The BASIC code is about 15 KB large, there's xLIB, that is 16 KB large, but tilemap data, stored into a list of sub-programs named prgmM40 through M60 or something like that, are a whooping total of 85 KB.

This is what I was wondering, if you could read external data like this with those routines, and I was wondering if the external program could be archived and be read without getting unarchived (or even copied to RAM)

Offline meishe91

  • Super Ninja
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2946
  • Rating: +115/-11
    • View Profile
    • DeviantArt
Re: Axe Parser
« Reply #413 on: April 11, 2010, 11:06:26 pm »
Where did you say that? And thanks, I completely forgot about that key. :)
Spoiler For Spoiler:



For the 51st time, that is not my card! (Magic Joke)

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Clacualters are teh gr33t
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55943
  • Rating: +3154/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • Dream of Omnimaga Music
Re: Axe Parser
« Reply #414 on: April 11, 2010, 11:29:59 pm »
Where did you say that? And thanks, I completely forgot about that key. :)
In reply to Quigibo post?

Offline meishe91

  • Super Ninja
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2946
  • Rating: +115/-11
    • View Profile
    • DeviantArt
Re: Axe Parser
« Reply #415 on: April 11, 2010, 11:36:04 pm »
Ya, my bad. I was wondering where he was quoting from.
Spoiler For Spoiler:



For the 51st time, that is not my card! (Magic Joke)

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Clacualters are teh gr33t
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55943
  • Rating: +3154/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • Dream of Omnimaga Music
Re: Axe Parser
« Reply #416 on: April 12, 2010, 12:01:33 am »
http://ourl.ca/4050/84944

I generally use CTRL+F in Opera, but in some cases, that can fail, especially if the original post was on multiple lines or not copy-pasted

Offline meishe91

  • Super Ninja
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2946
  • Rating: +115/-11
    • View Profile
    • DeviantArt
Re: Axe Parser
« Reply #417 on: April 12, 2010, 12:15:24 am »
Oh ok, I never saw that post. My bad. Thanks, DJ.
Spoiler For Spoiler:



For the 51st time, that is not my card! (Magic Joke)

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Clacualters are teh gr33t
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55943
  • Rating: +3154/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • Dream of Omnimaga Music
Re: Axe Parser
« Reply #418 on: April 12, 2010, 12:18:29 am »
No problem :D

Offline Quigibo

  • The Executioner
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • *
  • Posts: 2031
  • Rating: +1075/-24
  • I wish real life had a "Save" and "Load" button...
    • View Profile
Re: Axe Parser
« Reply #419 on: April 13, 2010, 07:46:16 pm »
Anyone know where I can get a list of shell calls with at least some I/O description?  I'm currently planning on supporting Ion, Mirage OS, and Doors CS6 since they seem to be most popular, but let me know if there are others that I should include.  And an update on the project:  The menus look really cool. :)  Thanks again Builderboy for the Logo.  I didn't end up using the whole thing, just the picture of the Axe, but it looks great.
___Axe_Parser___
Today the calculator, tomorrow the world!