• Axe Parser 5 1
Currently:  

Author Topic: Axe Parser  (Read 534249 times)

0 Members and 7 Guests are viewing this topic.

Offline Quigibo

  • The Executioner
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • *
  • Posts: 2031
  • Rating: +1075/-24
  • I wish real life had a "Save" and "Load" button...
    • View Profile
Re: Axe Parser
« Reply #870 on: June 22, 2010, 08:58:13 pm »
I was about to encourage you to learn it alongside BASIC, or as an alternative, but then I remembered I don't really have any comprehensive tutorials yet, just a simple one that already assumes you know BASIC.  I really should update my tutorial one day and expand it to be actually complete, I just haven't had time unfortunately.  The amount I'd have to write seems really overwhelming to me :-\
___Axe_Parser___
Today the calculator, tomorrow the world!

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Clacualters are teh gr33t
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55943
  • Rating: +3154/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • Dream of Omnimaga Music
Re: Axe Parser
« Reply #871 on: June 23, 2010, 12:14:21 am »
One question: is it true that Getkey(0) and getkey doesn't work in WabbitEmu? I think I remember Player1537 having issues with it in his RPG entry, when he made the screenshot, and I recall having issues with my Tunnel game as well, where it just seemed to ignore those

Offline Runer112

  • Project Author
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2289
  • Rating: +639/-31
    • View Profile
Re: Axe Parser
« Reply #872 on: June 23, 2010, 12:18:15 am »
Both work just fine for me, DJ Omnimaga.

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Clacualters are teh gr33t
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55943
  • Rating: +3154/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • Dream of Omnimaga Music
Re: Axe Parser
« Reply #873 on: June 23, 2010, 12:20:29 am »
Weird x.x

Maybe it is specific to computer hardware and what version of wabbit you use. I think there is a regular version and a .NET one. I forgot which one is the best.

At least the positive thing is that it works well on calc. That's what matters

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Clacualters are teh gr33t
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55943
  • Rating: +3154/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • Dream of Omnimaga Music
Re: Axe Parser
« Reply #874 on: June 24, 2010, 11:46:56 pm »
Question about L1/SaveSScreen:

If the data in this is modified, will the calc mess up on the next Auto Power Down/APD?

I am wondering because I just saw this: http://wikiti.brandonw.net/index.php?title=83Plus:RAM:86EC

Quote
Before using for data storage, ensure that the calculator will not APD™ by disabling it with B_CALL DisableApd.

Offline calc84maniac

  • eZ80 Guru
  • Coder Of Tomorrow
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2912
  • Rating: +471/-17
    • View Profile
    • TI-Boy CE
Re: Axe Parser
« Reply #875 on: June 25, 2010, 01:56:30 am »
Question about L1/SaveSScreen:

If the data in this is modified, will the calc mess up on the next Auto Power Down/APD?

I am wondering because I just saw this: http://wikiti.brandonw.net/index.php?title=83Plus:RAM:86EC

Quote
Before using for data storage, ensure that the calculator will not APD™ by disabling it with B_CALL DisableApd.
Nope. What happens is that when it APDs, the current data on the LCD is put into savesscreen, and then when it powers up, savesscreen is copied back into the LCD. A side effect of this is that any of your own data that was in savesscreen will be overwritten.
"Most people ask, 'What does a thing do?' Hackers ask, 'What can I make it do?'" - Pablos Holman

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Clacualters are teh gr33t
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55943
  • Rating: +3154/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • Dream of Omnimaga Music
Re: Axe Parser
« Reply #876 on: June 25, 2010, 02:16:59 am »
Aaah ok, thanks for the info. I should be safe, then.

Offline cooliojazz

  • Support Staff
  • LV7 Elite (Next: 700)
  • *******
  • Posts: 619
  • Rating: +66/-9
  • I omnoms on your soul
    • View Profile
    • Unreal Phantasies
Re: Axe Parser
« Reply #877 on: June 25, 2010, 01:56:52 pm »
I have a question.  I have a routine thats always drawing 13x8 sprites on the screen.  It moves in half tiles, so its either drawing one whole tile off the screen, or drawing two half tiles.  Now, whenever it draws the half tiles it slows down a LOT.  Why would this be, cause when it draws the 13th normally, it doesnt take any time since its off screen, or cause its having issues drawing it half on the screen, or what?  (And I checked my code, nothing but the drawing changes when it shifts)
Spoiler For Random signess:
You can not beat my skills.
Trust me.
So don't even try.
And remember never to trust someone who says, "Trust me."

TI File Editor Progress: Remade in java like a boss. 50% we'll call it? IDK =P
Java Libraries: JIRC - 90% JTIF - 5%
TI Projects: Unreal Notator - -5000%
Nomcraft, a Bukkit mod
Some of the music I write can be found here | The Rest Should Be Here (Bandcamp)

Offline Quigibo

  • The Executioner
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • *
  • Posts: 2031
  • Rating: +1075/-24
  • I wish real life had a "Save" and "Load" button...
    • View Profile
Re: Axe Parser
« Reply #878 on: June 25, 2010, 02:13:39 pm »
That's just becasue the sprite has to be shifted before it can be drawn when it is not aligned with the grid on the LCD ram.  The effect is most noticeable with Pt-Off() becasue that routine is particularly fast when its aligned and particularly slow when its not.  There really isn't much you can do, other than add more pauses when the grid is aligned.  This only applies to horizontal alignment by the way, not vertical so something along the lines of "!If X^8" would detect the alignment.
___Axe_Parser___
Today the calculator, tomorrow the world!

Offline cooliojazz

  • Support Staff
  • LV7 Elite (Next: 700)
  • *******
  • Posts: 619
  • Rating: +66/-9
  • I omnoms on your soul
    • View Profile
    • Unreal Phantasies
Re: Axe Parser
« Reply #879 on: June 25, 2010, 02:15:54 pm »
Ahh, ok, makes sense, thanks for that. Grr, I'll just have to see how i can work around that... :P
Spoiler For Random signess:
You can not beat my skills.
Trust me.
So don't even try.
And remember never to trust someone who says, "Trust me."

TI File Editor Progress: Remade in java like a boss. 50% we'll call it? IDK =P
Java Libraries: JIRC - 90% JTIF - 5%
TI Projects: Unreal Notator - -5000%
Nomcraft, a Bukkit mod
Some of the music I write can be found here | The Rest Should Be Here (Bandcamp)

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Clacualters are teh gr33t
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55943
  • Rating: +3154/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • Dream of Omnimaga Music
Re: Axe Parser
« Reply #880 on: June 25, 2010, 06:17:23 pm »
Darn I didn't realize I would have to deal with this problem x.x. I hope the slowdowns aren't too drastic

EDIT: nvm. The program I have already sometimes does that. The slow down is not that bad, altough it is a bit noticeable.

It is kinda bad if you need to draw an entire tilemapper every frame, though.
« Last Edit: June 25, 2010, 06:25:30 pm by DJ Omnimaga »

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Clacualters are teh gr33t
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55943
  • Rating: +3154/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • Dream of Omnimaga Music
Re: Axe Parser
« Reply #881 on: June 26, 2010, 12:50:03 am »
Question:

Is

{L1+44}+C->{L1+44}

faster than

F+C->F

?

I am wondering since the former uses 16 bit numbers while the later uses 8 bit

Offline Deep Toaster

  • So much to do, so much time, so little motivation
  • Administrator
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *************
  • Posts: 8217
  • Rating: +758/-15
    • View Profile
    • ClrHome
Re: Axe Parser
« Reply #882 on: June 26, 2010, 01:08:57 am »
I think you mean the latter is 16 bit and the former is 8.

And do I see a double-post by DJ :) Or did someone delete a post?

I can't answer that question (sorry), but I have a related question that someone could answer along with his: Is there any way to get 16-bit signed numbers, like int(L1)r (which doesn't work, by the way)?




Offline Quigibo

  • The Executioner
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • *
  • Posts: 2031
  • Rating: +1075/-24
  • I wish real life had a "Save" and "Load" button...
    • View Profile
Re: Axe Parser
« Reply #883 on: June 26, 2010, 01:10:14 am »
No, its ever so slightly slower since it has to convert the 8 bit number into a 16 bit number (since C is a 16 bit number) in order to do the addition and then convert it back again to an 8 bit number.  The fact that its 3 bytes larger I think? is the greater concern than the speed though.  Its actually an optimization if you can store all your variables with constant addresses as 16-bit variables if you have enough ram.  Variable addresses however ARE more optimized as 8 bit than as 16 bit.
« Last Edit: June 26, 2010, 01:11:56 am by Quigibo »
___Axe_Parser___
Today the calculator, tomorrow the world!

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Clacualters are teh gr33t
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55943
  • Rating: +3154/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • Dream of Omnimaga Music
Re: Axe Parser
« Reply #884 on: June 26, 2010, 01:17:30 am »
I think you mean the latter is 16 bit and the former is 8.

And do I see a double-post by DJ :) Or did someone delete a post?

I can't answer that question (sorry), but I have a related question that someone could answer along with his: Is there any way to get 16-bit signed numbers, like int(L1)r (which doesn't work, by the way)?
oh right yeah, my mistake x.x. As for the double-post, there were 6 hours between both posts, so I am within the rules :P

No, its ever so slightly slower since it has to convert the 8 bit number into a 16 bit number (since C is a 16 bit number) in order to do the addition and then convert it back again to an 8 bit number.  The fact that its 3 bytes larger I think? is the greater concern than the speed though.  Its actually an optimization if you can store all your variables with constant addresses as 16-bit variables if you have enough ram.  Variable addresses however ARE more optimized as 8 bit than as 16 bit.
Oh right I forgot about the fact variables remain 2 bytes and have to be converted when using inside addresses x.x. MY bad. I guess I'll need to be careful to what I choose depending of if speed is really a huge concern or not.