CODE | ||||||||||||
ec1 vec2w vec2w_new(u16 x, u16 y) { Post by: DJ Omnimaga on September 25, 2007, 09:02:00 am Post by: Liazon on September 25, 2007, 12:51:00 pm which also means room for insane optimizing. Post by: Halifax on September 25, 2007, 02:37:00 pm Post by: DJ Omnimaga on September 25, 2007, 02:52:00 pm Post by: bfr on September 25, 2007, 03:01:00 pm Using the inline assembler seems to be annoying, having to have a tab preceding each instruction and a "\n" after each instruction. Also, what does the instruction "mulu" do? I've never seen that before. o.o ![]() Post by: Liazon on September 26, 2007, 10:31:00 am
actually, i think that's how most assembly usually is. but the way he's writing it it out now is pseudo-C-ish. He's writing functions w/ inline ASM. The inputs are simply which registers stuff gets loaded into before the subroutine/function runs. All he needs to do is manipulate the register and return a value... I think. Post by: DJ Omnimaga on September 26, 2007, 11:36:00 am Post by: Halifax on September 26, 2007, 01:15:00 pm @bfr: mulu stands for MUltipLy Unsigned which is the conjugate to muls @Liazon: Basically, except nothing is inserted around my code because I follow standards. d0,d1,d2,a0,a1 are all throw away registers which means that you should never count on those registers ever being saved. If I didn't follow the standards, then yeah it would probably generate some push's and pop's (move) Either way I could have just put those into '.s' files and included them in the build, but I like inline assembly better because it is easier to maintain. Post by: DJ Omnimaga on September 26, 2007, 01:33:00 pm CH DP "Hello PA "Press Enter CH WH 1 GK->Z IF Z=45 TH ST End ....etc... instead of the current form Clearhome Display "Hello Pause "Press Enter Clearhome While 1 Getkey->Z If Z=45 Then Stop End ....etc... Post by: Halifax on September 26, 2007, 03:19:00 pm mpyhhau shlqbybi :) ![]() The first person to figure out what those two instructions mean for PS3 SPU Assembly will be one of a limited few to receive the NBA 68K demo. ;) ![]() So be the first!(The information is readily available on the Internet. You just need to know the right place to look.) Post by: DJ Omnimaga on September 26, 2007, 04:15:00 pm ![]() Post by: Liazon on September 26, 2007, 06:14:00 pm
QuoteBegin
Why instructions have to be so esoteric is a wonder. Oh well. Didn't see any registers so I guess it's more like: ra*rb + rt -> rt ra*2^rb -> rt which ends up being ra*2^rb -> rt anyways. @xlibman: I wonder if you could change the instructions by changing the table file the assembler uses. At the very least, I think it'd be neat if you could simply use #define to change everything. But ya 68k and x86sem to be more straight forward in terms of naming. Except i don't think i remember what lea, if that's an instruction stands for. Regardless, I think the z80 ASM community has come a long way for sure :) ![]() Post by: Halifax on September 27, 2007, 08:29:00 am @Liazon: Great job! You will be one of the lucky few to recieve the NBA 68K beta.(More contests to come) And yes 'lea' is an instruction which stands for 'Load Effective Address' P.S. Yes you can simply change the name of the instruction in the table file(.tab) Basically Liazon those are all just defines, and you could do it that way although it may increase your compile time by like .0001 seconds :P ![]() Post by: Liazon on September 27, 2007, 11:10:00 am although i like ASM the way it is, I have to agree with xlibman that most of the time, the code part is not very wide at all. it's just short 2-4 letter instructions with 1-2 character arguments, with some occasionally large label names. and with SPASM, you could use local labels and then it gets even shorter. data is usually large arrays that are pretty wide. lol, now i see why the PS3 instructions have those names: mpyhhau Multiply high high add unsigned shlqbybi Shift left quadword by bytes from bit shift count Post by: Halifax on September 27, 2007, 01:55:00 pm Hey we could do that. We should write a custom Table file! Post by: DJ Omnimaga on September 27, 2007, 03:47:00 pm Post by: Halifax on September 29, 2007, 05:35:00 pm Answer the following question: Assuming that 4D people are real. Could a 3D being lock up a safe ,with the craziest technology ever, and put chains around, and every thing else, with money inside. And then could a 4D person put its "hand" inside the safe without ever touching any of the security, or even the walls of the safe, and steal the money in the safe? Post by: Ranman on September 30, 2007, 12:55:00 pm Post by: DJ Omnimaga on September 30, 2007, 01:02:00 pm Post by: Radical Pi on September 30, 2007, 01:38:00 pm
Answer: Yes. Too bad I don't have a 68K calc :rolleyes: ![]() Post by: Halifax on September 30, 2007, 03:17:00 pm Post by: Madskillz on September 30, 2007, 04:32:00 pm Post by: Halifax on October 01, 2007, 07:59:00 am ![]() Also sorry DJ_Omnimaga, and Ranman for not seeing your posts.(It didn't show up as unread) Here is the explanation: Dimensions are based on perpendiculars and although the 4th dimension has not been discovered it can be easily attributed to other things. For example a 2 dimensional world has two axes that expand on forever to make a plane. Now the 3rd dimension just adds a perpendicular axis to this 2nd dimension which means to get to the 1st dimension you would have to go through the 2nd. So think of it this way the 4th dimension is perpendicular to the 3rd dimension. ;) ![]() Onto the answer to my question about the safe. First know this: 4th dimension is to the 3rd dimension as the 3rd dimension is to the 2nd dimension Now with that in mind. How would we take money out of a 2 dimensional person's safe. Well the safe could only look like this(with money "="): +---+ +==+ +---+ So now how can you take the money out of that locked safe up there? Well just pull it out perpendicularly to the 2D guy's world, and he won't even notice it is gone! Locks and all. :) ![]() (END) Ranman: To answer your question. We do not know what constitutes a 4D person, but it is thought that if a 4D person were to walk through this dimension we would only see spheres hanging in the air. Just as a 2D person would only see slices(lines) of a 3D person walking through its dimension. Post by: DJ Omnimaga on October 01, 2007, 08:10:00 am Post by: Liazon on October 01, 2007, 10:11:00 am Post by: Madskillz on October 15, 2007, 11:30:00 am Anyways I am getting close to having them all wrapped up logo wise. Here are is the current line up: (There on the far right) ![]() I got about 6-7 left to do, I think. Feedback is always welcome. I am gonna push to get these done this week. Sprite work will start probably about a week after I finish the logos, but I gotta get some of my z80 projects updated so it may not be until november sometime. What were the sizes on the character sprites again? Post by: DJ Omnimaga on October 15, 2007, 11:42:00 am ![]() ![]() I hope he comes back on this project though. Maybe he was just waiting for the logo sprites This is awesome sprites Madskillz, nice job on them, but don't make the toronto one last one in your todo list else I will murder all non canadians on this forum tomorrow :gotosucks: ![]() j/k :P ![]() Post by: JonimusPrime on October 15, 2007, 11:44:00 am ![]() Post by: Speler on October 15, 2007, 11:52:00 am Post by: DJ Omnimaga on October 15, 2007, 11:54:00 am ![]() Post by: Speler on October 15, 2007, 11:58:00 am Post by: DJ Omnimaga on October 15, 2007, 11:58:00 am Post by: TIfanx1999 on October 15, 2007, 12:17:00 pm Post by: Speler on October 15, 2007, 12:17:00 pm Post by: DJ Omnimaga on October 15, 2007, 12:26:00 pm Post by: JonimusPrime on October 15, 2007, 01:04:00 pm Post by: Halifax on October 15, 2007, 01:11:00 pm
Yes it had a "GPU" that was more like just hardware aided graphics helpers and stuff. Such as memory to keep the sprites, and a memory mapped LCD plus other things that are more suited for games. Also it had a bigger resolution than the TI 83+. Post by: DJ Omnimaga on October 15, 2007, 02:49:00 pm and halifax i think you missed madskillz sprites and the rest of the posts before the one you quoted x.x Post by: Liazon on October 15, 2007, 02:55:00 pm in this context, we're kinda generalizing the use of the acronym GPU to include non-graphics card graphics hardware. In many ways, the game gear operates like the NDS/GBA/GBC/GB. A separate piece of hardware reads certain areas of dedicated RAM and displays graphics accordingly, without the CPU needing to do anything. Post by: DJ Omnimaga on October 15, 2007, 02:58:00 pm Post by: Liazon on October 15, 2007, 03:05:00 pm This isn't too bad on 86 or 89 because their screens automatically read a special part of RAM and the screen reflects the data there. So those calcs don't waste all that time waiting for the screen to update correctly. You can simply spend 4 cycles rewriting one byte to change one pixel. On 83+/84+, you have to spend at least 70 cycles to change one pixel because the info has to be sent to the calc. Keep in mind too that handhelds have built in color/gs, so the sprite data is all you need to set a color. no messed up 2 layer thing for 4 level gs. and no switching layers every other frame to create gs. the screen has it already :) ![]() Post by: DJ Omnimaga on October 15, 2007, 03:15:00 pm Post by: Liazon on October 15, 2007, 03:28:00 pm To make a raycaster w/ the stripped processor would have been hard because you would have to render every pixel at 30 fps, which is not a lot of time. By the time you finish redoing every pixel, a second might have already gone by. Not to mention that the hardware updates at a rate of 60 fps, which means you have horrible artifacts. I know someone on GBAdev.org was working on a GBA raycaster, which looked feasible. with the DS, you program as if it were 3D on a comp, so it really doesn't matter as much anymore. Although you can only have one screen be 3D, not both, since the hardware was designed to only 3Dize one screen at a time. Although I think it'd be cool to get 3D on the other screen using the processor. Maybe you could get the ARM7 to work in parallel and update the second screen. I'm not sure, but that might be cool. Although one 3D screen works out pretty fine :) ![]() Post by: DJ Omnimaga on October 15, 2007, 03:36:00 pm Post by: TIfanx1999 on October 15, 2007, 03:42:00 pm ![]() Post by: Ranman on October 15, 2007, 03:47:00 pm Post by: TIfanx1999 on October 15, 2007, 03:57:00 pm ![]() Post by: Madskillz on October 15, 2007, 04:09:00 pm Speaking of Doom II for the GBA, did you all know that that is like a rare game I guess. Heh, I knew it was tough to find in stores around me...i have a mint complete with box and instruction GBA doom 2 sitting around here. My advice is to keep it, it will only be worth more if you have it! :) ![]() Post by: Liazon on October 16, 2007, 01:05:00 pm too bad raycasting = no pointing up and down. Post by: Halifax on October 16, 2007, 01:42:00 pm
No I didn't miss his sprites. I have talked to him in private about matters with the sprites(nothing bad ;) ![]() And yes basically a GPU is no different from a CPU except that it is meant to take the load off of the CPU, and it is multicore. This is why the CELL is generally compared to being a GPU. Speaking of that, check out this cool link. *Halifax Post by: DJ Omnimaga on October 16, 2007, 02:23:00 pm ![]() Post by: Halifax on October 16, 2007, 02:34:00 pm Post by: DJ Omnimaga on October 16, 2007, 02:39:00 pm Now get to work! (We need whips here...) j/k I'm not that evil :P ![]() |