Omnimaga

Calculator Community => Other Calc-Related Projects and Ideas => TI-Nspire => Topic started by: mdr1 on May 05, 2012, 10:05:41 am

Title: Roller Coaster Tycoon 2 on TI-Nspire
Post by: mdr1 on May 05, 2012, 10:05:41 am
Hello every body,

no, I didn't adapt that game for TI-Nspire, but I thought it were really possible to do it. ;D
TI-Nspire's RAM and UC are largely sufficient.

I haven't programmed anything on the TI-Nspire with C language yet, but I'm able to do some functions for the projects if any members can invest in the project.

Let's put up some ideas I have for the game's gestion. I think the map can have dimensions 200*200 (width and length) and with a height of 20 tiles.
Each tile will be 2 bytes ==> a map will be 200*200*20*2 = 1.6 Mo (the RAM is largely higher).

Each tile will have a value between 0 and 65535. I suggest that 0 to 10000 value indicates a static tile (path, block, sets etc.) the next non-static tile (attraction, shop etc.). ;)
A value points on a table in order to point on a functions' structure. If the value indicates an non-static tile (more than 10000), it matches in the table an non-constant value. The, we can call the function "display" on each tile (static or not) in order to display the map.

I know my english is really bad and the project is a bit hard, but I'm sure there's members wo are able to do that (I an help a bit). :ninja:
Title: Re: Roller Coaster Tycoon 2 on TI-Nspire
Post by: jsj795 on May 06, 2012, 07:31:54 am
Is the source code for RCT2 available? If not, and also especially if the formula for their stats are not known, it might be hard to recreate the stats for excitement, intensity, and nausea ratings, and also how to determine the roller coaster's popularity, etc.

Anyways if you guys do decide to start this project, good luck! I'm a huge fan of Roller Coaster Tycoon 2 :D
Title: Re: Roller Coaster Tycoon 2 on TI-Nspire
Post by: Cuervo on May 06, 2012, 08:31:22 am
I think it's impossible to port Roller Coaster Tycoon because RCT 1 and 2 were made completely in x86-Windows-assembly.

Source:
http://www.chrissawyergames.com/faq3.htm (http://www.chrissawyergames.com/faq3.htm)
Quote
What language was RollerCoaster Tycoon programmed in?
It's 99% written in x86 assembler/machine code (yes, really!), with a small amount of C code used to interface to MS Windows and DirectX.

So it would have to be completely rewritten in Nspire C or Nspire Asm.


TIA
Title: Re: Roller Coaster Tycoon 2 on TI-Nspire
Post by: jsj795 on May 06, 2012, 09:13:11 am
WOW all that in assembly... props to RCT devs!
Title: Re: Roller Coaster Tycoon 2 on TI-Nspire
Post by: Le solutionneur on May 06, 2012, 10:36:28 am
I think it would be too hard to do it yourself: RTC2 was made by a skilled programmer and an expert art designer: I think it's too hard to do it alone and on a more limited device.

An AOE-like game is more doable since there is only flat stuff (I mean that you can't build stairs or things like this): we can use sprites with an isometric 2d. But it wouldn't be easy, as well.
Title: Re: Roller Coaster Tycoon 2 on TI-Nspire
Post by: mdr1 on May 06, 2012, 11:11:51 am
99% in assembly, wow !
I'm also a fan of RCT2. But when I spoke about porting it, I didn't think about the source code (I did not find it because I think the game isn't open source), but I was thinking to create a new game which use the same way of playing.

I think it would be too hard to do it yourself: RTC2 was made by a team of skilled programmers, art designers etc in a large number: I think it's too hard to do it alone and on a more limited device.

A AOE-like game is more doable since there is only flat stuff (I mean that you can build stairs or related): we can use sprites with an isometric 2d. But it wouldn't be easy, as well.
That's why I didn't say that I would do it, but that it would be cool to gather members who have got experience in nspire C/ASM programming.
When I see that NES and GBC emulators exist (ok, adapted, but no easy), I think it is possible.
But sure I can help giving ideas and creating functions (for example de AI for the guests).

In order to see which image does the Nspire's screen bring, let's see that (the number of pixels is correct) :

(http://img685.imageshack.us/img685/2835/nspirerct2.png)

Okay, it is RCT1, but this is the same with RCT2.

Imagine how fun it would be.  ;D
Title: Re: Roller Coaster Tycoon 2 on TI-Nspire
Post by: Le solutionneur on May 06, 2012, 11:27:51 am
I just feel nostagic hehe :)

You're right, it would be really awesome to create this again
Title: Re: Roller Coaster Tycoon 2 on TI-Nspire
Post by: cyanophycean314 on May 06, 2012, 11:35:10 am
Are you sure the resolution is correct? It's about 300*200? Even so, it looks really blurry.  :P

I recommend that you just try to do a simpler version of RCT. Don't try anything too difficult like isometrics or the complex formulas. Start doing the project yourself and then others will help.

Edit: However, that screenshot does make me want to play RCT2 again.  :)
Title: Re: Roller Coaster Tycoon 2 on TI-Nspire
Post by: mdr1 on May 06, 2012, 11:43:13 am
Are you sure the resolution is correct? It's about 300*200? Even so, it looks really blurry.  :P

I recommend that you just try to do a simpler version of RCT. Don't try anything too difficult like isometrics or the complex formulas. Start doing the project yourself and then others will help.

Edit: However, that screenshot does make me want to play RCT2 again.  :)

Not 300*200 but 320*240 pixels. And yes, I'm sure. :P
For the simple version of RCT, I thought about it but I have no time : I'm already in a z80 project and I'm doing 3 tutorials in siteduzero.com
And an other problem is that I think the simple version would'nt have the correct structure and would impossible to extend.

For the isometric, what do you think the difficulty is ? It's just sprites, isn't it ?
Title: Re: Roller Coaster Tycoon 2 on TI-Nspire
Post by: Le solutionneur on May 06, 2012, 11:43:48 am
Are you sure the resolution is correct? It's about 300*200? Even so, it looks really blurry.  :P

I recommend that you just try to do a simpler version of RCT. Don't try anything too difficult like isometrics or the complex formulas. Start doing the project yourself and then others will help.

Edit: However, that screenshot does make me want to play RCT2 again.  :)
Hehe, me too.

RTC1 is old, I think we can ask for the source code to see how stuff are handled :)
Title: Re: Roller Coaster Tycoon 2 on TI-Nspire
Post by: mdr1 on May 06, 2012, 11:48:32 am
I'm not sure atari would accept to give us the source code.
But even if they do (they may ask publicity for RCT3), we were obligated to reduce the generated file (and to transform the assembly x86 onto the Nspire's assembly).
The better might to know how atari organized his code and how it did for the problems like the popularity as jsj795 said.
Title: Re: Roller Coaster Tycoon 2 on TI-Nspire
Post by: Le solutionneur on May 06, 2012, 12:05:36 pm
BTW, the small studio that did it was bought by Atari and then closed.
We need to send a nice email with arguments of why they should release the source code.

The source code is probably bundled with commentds like what are the structs etc !
Title: Re: Roller Coaster Tycoon 2 on TI-Nspire
Post by: DJ Omnimaga on May 06, 2012, 02:36:43 pm
Wow I haven't played this in a while. I got the RCT2 game in a cereal box several years ago (along with Trivial Pursuit: Déjanté).

I agree this would be a huge undertaking as a solo calc project, though. It might requires a few years of Nspire programming. However if you want to give it a try, then good luck. Could it be a stripped down version of the original?
Title: Re: Roller Coaster Tycoon 2 on TI-Nspire
Post by: aeTIos on May 15, 2012, 05:43:31 am
omahlordy gimme that :O O.O
Title: Re: Roller Coaster Tycoon 2 on TI-Nspire
Post by: Keoni29 on May 15, 2012, 10:22:27 am
Coasters and such are gonna be a pain to animate though...
Title: Re: Roller Coaster Tycoon 2 on TI-Nspire
Post by: Jonius7 on May 15, 2012, 11:23:56 pm
Coasters and such are gonna be a pain to animate though...
Maybe make the coaster creating engine first (and adding all the other blocks... no I mean tile style buildings and features)? Though I agree that after building it you would like to see how it actually rides, which would be tricky.

1600th post! Well this took a while.
Title: Re: Roller Coaster Tycoon 2 on TI-Nspire
Post by: ZippyDee on May 16, 2012, 01:35:26 am
The physics of it wouldn't actually be that hard...2D roller coaster physics is incredibly easy. Moving it into pseudo-3D isn't that much harder, and you can pre-calculate a lot of things because the track is made up of known segments.

Edit: Completely realistic rollercoaster physics is not easy, of course, but RCT physics were pretty basic. Just a accelerations, Gs, and sometimes thresholds for things like coasters flying off sharp turns for the one(s) not attached to the track...
Title: Re: Roller Coaster Tycoon 2 on TI-Nspire
Post by: mdr1 on May 16, 2012, 01:36:06 pm
The 2D isometric would be quite easy, but the animations of the attractions and especially which we draw ourselves would be hard.
A solution could be to ask the source and then to convert it to assembly ARM line per line... but it would take a lot of time (though maybe less) and we were obligated to divide per 3 the game's size. The starting video can use a lot of bytes and we may reduce the size removing the video... am I right ?
Title: Re: Roller Coaster Tycoon 2 on TI-Nspire
Post by: Le solutionneur on February 16, 2013, 05:08:02 pm
There is an interesting project related to the topic:
http://freerct.blogspot.com/

It's in C++ though.
Title: Re: Roller Coaster Tycoon 2 on TI-Nspire
Post by: TIfanx1999 on February 16, 2013, 09:40:34 pm
Hmm, interesting find. :)
Title: Re: Roller Coaster Tycoon 2 on TI-Nspire
Post by: Sorunome on February 17, 2013, 02:09:54 am
Interesting, some time ago i also found somebody remaking the anno series on a pretty good level....
Title: Re: Roller Coaster Tycoon 2 on TI-Nspire
Post by: Vijfhoek on February 17, 2013, 07:00:13 am
Just a few things, there is no RCT1 source code, it's written in x86 assembly so you could just as well disassemble it. Also, RCT1 and RCT2 aren't made by Atari, it's programmed by Chris Sawyer who has nothing to do with Atari or RCT3/RCT3D.

(Edit, 42nd post \o/)
Title: Re: Roller Coaster Tycoon 2 on TI-Nspire
Post by: Fireicee1 on February 17, 2013, 11:44:39 am
Wow this would be amazing!  I loved those games.
Title: Re: Roller Coaster Tycoon 2 on TI-Nspire
Post by: pimathbrainiac on February 17, 2013, 12:14:10 pm
/me wants an nSpire so badly! :P

To be honest, Das Ist Sooooooooooooo Coooool (if you can do it)