Author Topic: Bomberman  (Read 23987 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

ASHBAD_ALVIN

  • Guest
Re: Bomberman
« Reply #60 on: November 06, 2010, 09:50:24 pm »
It clears the screen, and then updates it.  It doesn't write over anything in the process, just sweeps up the current screen status ;)

Also, saw that title screen, just want to tell you that it's looking amazing! :D

Offline yunhua98

  • You won't this read sentence right.
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2718
  • Rating: +214/-12
  • Go take a dive in the River Lethe.
    • View Profile
Re: Bomberman
« Reply #61 on: November 06, 2010, 09:52:23 pm »
on a real calc?  because it doesn't really work on an Emu.  my only concern is if it damages the screen though...  from what DJ said, probably not, but I hadn't really made myself clear then.

Spoiler For =====My Projects=====:
Minor setback due to code messing up.  On hold for Contest.
<hr>
On hold for Contest.


Spoiler For ===Staff Memberships===:






Have you seen any good news-worthy programs/events?  If so, PM me with an article to be included in the next issue of CGPN!
The Game is only a demo, the code that allows one to win hasn't been done.
To paraphrase Oedipus, Hamlet, Lear, and all those guys, "I wish I had known this some time ago."
Signature Last Updated: 12/26/11
<hr>

ASHBAD_ALVIN

  • Guest
Re: Bomberman
« Reply #62 on: November 06, 2010, 09:54:21 pm »
by clear the screen I meant not by erasing the bufer but actuall switching the image showing on the LCD itself. 

Just realized that I might cause some confusion without this explanation :)

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Clacualters are teh gr33t
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55943
  • Rating: +3154/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • Dream of Omnimaga Music
Re: Bomberman
« Reply #63 on: November 07, 2010, 02:13:30 am »
no, it produces a ripple effect of grey scrolling up.  it has to do with the way TI calcs clear the screen i think.

EDIT:  777th post!
Yeah it's different depending of how it is used. If it's incredibly fast, on some calcs it causes a weird 9000 level grayscale vertical wave effect. It's hard to achieve, though, and is not recommended, because it doesn't work on all models.

Btw I just saw the screenshot and it looks awesome so far! Do you think you would be able to add smooth movement transition between tiles? (not tile-by tile movement)

Offline yunhua98

  • You won't this read sentence right.
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2718
  • Rating: +214/-12
  • Go take a dive in the River Lethe.
    • View Profile
Re: Bomberman
« Reply #64 on: November 09, 2010, 05:56:50 pm »
maybe, but, it'll be like BuckeyeD's pokemon clone, where it always ends up at the same place, only it shows smooth transition, but you can't stop midway trough.  ;)
also, is there a way to loop to close to the top of the program only if a condition is satisfied?  Goto won't work here for some reason.  ???

Spoiler For =====My Projects=====:
Minor setback due to code messing up.  On hold for Contest.
<hr>
On hold for Contest.


Spoiler For ===Staff Memberships===:






Have you seen any good news-worthy programs/events?  If so, PM me with an article to be included in the next issue of CGPN!
The Game is only a demo, the code that allows one to win hasn't been done.
To paraphrase Oedipus, Hamlet, Lear, and all those guys, "I wish I had known this some time ago."
Signature Last Updated: 12/26/11
<hr>

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Clacualters are teh gr33t
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55943
  • Rating: +3154/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • Dream of Omnimaga Music
Re: Bomberman
« Reply #65 on: November 10, 2010, 02:19:41 am »
AH ok, it's fine I think. Kinda like RPGs. As for Goto I'm not too sure, I haven't used Axe in a while.

Offline squidgetx

  • Food.
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV10 31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
  • *
  • Posts: 1881
  • Rating: +503/-17
  • rawr.
    • View Profile
Re: Bomberman
« Reply #66 on: November 10, 2010, 07:12:01 am »
maybe, but, it'll be like BuckeyeD's pokemon clone, where it always ends up at the same place, only it shows smooth transition, but you can't stop midway trough.  ;)
also, is there a way to loop to close to the top of the program only if a condition is satisfied?  Goto won't work here for some reason.  ???

That's how the movement engine works in Ash too ;)

Does goto just..not jump properly? I broke my usual habits and used a few in Ash and they all work fine ???

Offline yunhua98

  • You won't this read sentence right.
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2718
  • Rating: +214/-12
  • Go take a dive in the River Lethe.
    • View Profile
Re: Bomberman
« Reply #67 on: November 10, 2010, 04:28:13 pm »
Like how do you put a Goto in an if?  because Axe Ifs always end in End?

Spoiler For =====My Projects=====:
Minor setback due to code messing up.  On hold for Contest.
<hr>
On hold for Contest.


Spoiler For ===Staff Memberships===:






Have you seen any good news-worthy programs/events?  If so, PM me with an article to be included in the next issue of CGPN!
The Game is only a demo, the code that allows one to win hasn't been done.
To paraphrase Oedipus, Hamlet, Lear, and all those guys, "I wish I had known this some time ago."
Signature Last Updated: 12/26/11
<hr>

Offline squidgetx

  • Food.
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV10 31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
  • *
  • Posts: 1881
  • Rating: +503/-17
  • rawr.
    • View Profile
Re: Bomberman
« Reply #68 on: November 10, 2010, 04:42:36 pm »
It's perfectly fine to do that. ;)
TI failed epically hard at coding their Goto instructions.

« Last Edit: November 10, 2010, 04:43:01 pm by squidgetx »

Offline ztrumpet

  • The Rarely Active One
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *
  • Posts: 5712
  • Rating: +364/-4
  • If you see this, send me a PM. Just for fun.
    • View Profile
Re: Bomberman
« Reply #69 on: November 10, 2010, 04:48:30 pm »
It's perfectly fine to do that. ;)
TI failed epically hard at coding their Goto instructions.
Yup, in Axe, this code will never, ever Err: Memory:
Code: [Select]
.TEST
Lbl AAA
Repeat getKey(15)
If 1
If 1
If 1
!If 0
Goto AAA
End
End
End
End
End

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Clacualters are teh gr33t
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55943
  • Rating: +3154/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • Dream of Omnimaga Music
Re: Bomberman
« Reply #70 on: November 10, 2010, 11:58:12 pm »
I think in ASM it's the same, but I am not sure if ASM got If instructions, lol :P

Offline yunhua98

  • You won't this read sentence right.
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2718
  • Rating: +214/-12
  • Go take a dive in the River Lethe.
    • View Profile
Re: Bomberman
« Reply #71 on: November 11, 2010, 06:25:22 pm »
nope, I think its substituted with CP and checking for flags.  (Maybe?)  anyway, thanks to Hot_Dog's ASM lessons!
« Last Edit: November 11, 2010, 06:25:45 pm by yunhua98 »

Spoiler For =====My Projects=====:
Minor setback due to code messing up.  On hold for Contest.
<hr>
On hold for Contest.


Spoiler For ===Staff Memberships===:






Have you seen any good news-worthy programs/events?  If so, PM me with an article to be included in the next issue of CGPN!
The Game is only a demo, the code that allows one to win hasn't been done.
To paraphrase Oedipus, Hamlet, Lear, and all those guys, "I wish I had known this some time ago."
Signature Last Updated: 12/26/11
<hr>

Offline Builderboy

  • Physics Guru
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *
  • Posts: 5673
  • Rating: +613/-9
  • Would you kindly?
    • View Profile
Re: Bomberman
« Reply #72 on: November 13, 2010, 01:43:48 am »
Yep, in asm, there are ONLY goto instructions XD thats why there can't be memory leaks :D (just imagine if you built all your basic programs with goto, yes it would be slow, but it wouldn't get leaks because no loops to break out of :D)

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Clacualters are teh gr33t
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55943
  • Rating: +3154/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • Dream of Omnimaga Music
Re: Bomberman
« Reply #73 on: November 13, 2010, 01:59:03 am »
Ah right. I guess there's a lot of jumping from a memory address to another, lol. It must be a bit confusing to read a massive ASM program source. X.x

Anyway any updates on Bomberman? :)

Offline yunhua98

  • You won't this read sentence right.
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2718
  • Rating: +214/-12
  • Go take a dive in the River Lethe.
    • View Profile
Re: Bomberman
« Reply #74 on: November 13, 2010, 08:06:40 pm »
Not too much, I'm pretty much halting most stuff for the Team Battle.  although I have added multiple levels, so you can't beat the entire game now, you can only push losing far back, just like The Game, although unlike The Game, you can quit.  but its really not enough of an update to release something, plus its not like something graphical, so its not screenie-worthy either.  ;)

Spoiler For =====My Projects=====:
Minor setback due to code messing up.  On hold for Contest.
<hr>
On hold for Contest.


Spoiler For ===Staff Memberships===:






Have you seen any good news-worthy programs/events?  If so, PM me with an article to be included in the next issue of CGPN!
The Game is only a demo, the code that allows one to win hasn't been done.
To paraphrase Oedipus, Hamlet, Lear, and all those guys, "I wish I had known this some time ago."
Signature Last Updated: 12/26/11
<hr>