whats dual layer ascii?? how can you
QUOTE | whats dual layer ascii?? how can you have 2 layers on a game that uses the homescreen? |
I was going to [try to] write an ASM program that lets you store and recall the homescreen to appvars or something.
Haven't got around to that, but I've already a homescreen cursor that doesn't destroy anything.
Insanity zapi actually does that, this is what allowed me to do all those animations in dark link quest with home screen maps
*bump*
After getting sidetracked once again, I've discovered a much faster, smaller, and more effective way of creating my dynamic subroutines.
Hats off to Insanity, for having prgmSTR2PROG in PyroEdit 4 (which, I must say, is much better than Artistic). :D
wow nice! I assume this will make game developpement much faster and allow routines to be used for other games easily, right?
it has been almost a month without new progress O_O
Yeah, I know. Progress has been really slow, mainly due to my math teacher telling us to Clear memory or not take the test. I had a backup elsewhere, but it was kind of old, so I'm rewriting it. Shouldn't take too long.
:( sorry to hear
I wish teacher didn't do this, I wonder if it's even legal <_< . It's like if the teacher came at your home and asked you to delete the entirer content of your HDD
Not quite there Now it the teacher had removed every thing including the os the it would have been the same thing. lol
or installed flash crash (found on the very old Omnimaga forums in Iambian (Iambian_Zenith) sig, and I am talking about the old forums from back in early 2004). This is pretty harmful for the calc
thats why you should always keep a fake mem clear handy :)
QuoteBegin-Harrierfalcon+15 Oct, 2007, 16:26-->QUOTE (Harrierfalcon @ 15 Oct, 2007, 16:26) | Yeah, I know. Progress has been really slow, mainly due to my math teacher telling us to Clear memory or not take the test. I had a backup elsewhere, but it was kind of old, so I'm rewriting it. Shouldn't take too long. |
too bad :( 
Currently deciding whether I should make saving SMC, or not. If it is, it would load faster, and autosave immediately when you get a powerup. If not, it would take longer to load, but allow more than one save file, and save more like the original Metroid games.
What do you guys think?
I would make it like the other metroid games. In other words, either you make it save when you die and always restart with 30 energy points (altough you still keep your energy tanks), like in Metroid for NES, or you make it allow saving at certain spots in the game (save points like in other Metroid games).
QuoteBegin-Harrierfalcon+30 Oct, 2007, 7:11-->QUOTE (Harrierfalcon @ 30 Oct, 2007, 7:11) | Currently deciding whether I should make saving SMC, or not. If it is, it would load faster, and autosave immediately when you get a powerup. If not, it would take longer to load, but allow more than one save file, and save more like the original Metroid games.
What do you guys think? |
that can be done in basic w/ celtic?
how much faster load time?
The speed, I haven't tested. However, if I did save it like the save station metroid games, I would either use a list or a program to save files. Having done that, I would read each element and SMC the subroutines to fit. Considering what I'm packing in, then consider simply having those subroutines ready to go when it start.
Or you could use the password system from Metroid I for the old NES 8 bits like Zeromus/CDI did with his xLIB version of Metroid Pure (which was the prequel of Metroid II: Evolution), but it would be too complicated for nothing
Agreed. I'll probably stick with the longer-loading time, because then you actually have to get to a save station after getting something to save. :)
EDIT: Metroid Pi just earned a 7/10 on ticalc.org. Apparently loading is slow and so is gameplay. Loading isn't IMO, but gameplay could be faster.
Yeah I just saw, I was tempted to post a review but since someone did I will wait a week or so, but in summary it would have got 9 for graphics considering its pure basic, 8 for size since its small for a metroid, 9 for gameplay/control since its easy to use and fast, altough it lack a lot of features from Metroid, but storyline/lenght may be something like 3 because the game was extremly short (even more than Metroid Pure). Either than the story and small amount of features compared to Metroid II Evolution I still have the game grouped on my calc ready to play if I get bored of working on Metroid II Expansion
QUOTE | Currently deciding whether I should make saving SMC, or not. If it is, it would load faster, and autosave immediately when you get a powerup. If not, it would take longer to load, but allow more than one save file, and save more like the original Metroid games.
What do you guys think?
|
I like the idea of faster loading, and I don't think you really need multiple save files, so I'd say go for the faster method.
Yeah one save file is plenty. If you're gonna do auto save, then you should let the user turn it off or on.
QuoteBegin-Harrierfalcon+30 Oct, 2007, 18:46-->QUOTE (Harrierfalcon @ 30 Oct, 2007, 18:46) | The speed, I haven't tested. However, if I did save it like the save station metroid games, I would either use a list or a program to save files. Having done that, I would read each element and SMC the subroutines to fit. Considering what I'm packing in, then consider simply having those subroutines ready to go when it start. |
keep w/ the save stations ;) 
Lolz. Due to the recent release of Metroid II: Evolution's expansion pack, I have been focusing on this. I've decided to completely rewrite the map system, as it runs a little slow, and I'm throwing a couple more programmer-oriented niceties into the mix.
In short; I'm working on it.
EDIT: I forgot. I figured out the save system as well :) . I'll copy all the subroutines to temporary programs when you start, SMC the temp programs when you get a powerup or something, and writeback to the original subroutines when you save. It's simpler than what I had anticipated, and works just like Metroid Pi :D .
Ok I'm gonna release another expansion set when you finish Pi 2 so you make a 3rd one :D ^.^
j/k but nice you're still wotrking on this :)
i didn't know basic programmers used the acronym SMC too.
I do, but it's not truly possible without ASM subroutine.
Still working on world one maps. Due to the amount, the completion percentage hasn't been going anywhere.
Be prepared; there will be a LOT of subprograms. Put it this way: 16 map databases for each world. 3 worlds. 16*3+[other subroutines].
I could compress each world into 3 programs, but that would mean slower loading times, plus me having to rewrite the entire map system (again).
But I need feedback. As for the loading type...post your choice! (The description, not the number):- Loading like Metroid Pi and Zoith. Slow, but hides discrepancies such as trick walls (making for better gameplay, IMO)
- Draw Layer 1 completely, StorePic, draw layer 2 completely, RecallPic. Fast, but doesn't hide discrepancies.
And note if you want a line that "scans and renders" the new environment; it'd be slightly slower, but cooler-looking.
Screenies upon request. (I'm kind of homework-buried right now)
QuoteBegin-Harrierfalcon+29 Nov, 2007, 20:23-->QUOTE (Harrierfalcon @ 29 Nov, 2007, 20:23) | I do, but it's not truly possible without ASM subroutine.
....
Screenies upon request. (I'm kind of homework-buried right now) |
i see
ya, take your time. for some reason I find school work takes a huge jump before x-mas and midyear exams. not a surprise though.
amount... are you implying there is looooad of maps? If so this will make the game even more complete and maybe rival Metroid II expansion lenght.
I don't mind high amount of sub programs really. If the game is gonna be long, good and complete at the same time it will generally have a lot, and generally when I see a game with many sub programs on ticalc I am more tempted to downlload it because in most cases it's a masterpiece
as for loading I would go with option 1, because it wasn't that slow anyway
Yeah my school workload has been rather heavy lately.
And DJ? Each world has 16*16 room limit. So yeah, it'll be fairly long.
I kind of like the loading line...it indicates where it is currently working, which is good in areas with lots of space (plus it kind of gives off that computer-ish feel). But what do you guys think?
Yeah I like the loading from Metroid Pi and zoith because it really isn't that slow, and adds the gameplay.
wizards spiral!!! ^^
ya sure, loading isn't a bad thing.
@harrierfalcon; What do you mean by the second method doesn't hide discrepancies as well? If the second method is significantly faster than I'd say use it. Otherwise the first should be fine.
I think what he means is that there are certain walls that you can destroy to get to hidden passages, and if he uses the second way, you'll be able to tell where it is when the map is loading.
Well, if you've played Metroid Pi, then by "discrepancies" I mean irregularities in terrain, such as a fake wall.
Definitley use the first method then, Sry, I missed that in original post.
Nah, I wasn't very clear.
Updating my sig, now I'm working on the powerup system.
Nice, keep it up :)
|