Author Topic: TI-84+CSE: Checkers  (Read 12273 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline tifreak

  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2708
  • Rating: +82/-3
  • My Kung Fu IS strong...
    • View Profile
    • TI-Freakware
Re: TI-84+CSE: Checkers
« Reply #30 on: April 26, 2013, 08:31:47 pm »
So! Checkers now go all the way across the board, they don't overwrite other checkers, and you can only select the checkers that is for your turn.

Things to do now:

-Make it so only does the I switching when the cursor actually moves
-Make it so you can jump opposing checkers
-Make it so you can be crowned
-Maybe make it store as a Picvar when the board is generated as a quick way of restoring the board for a rematch?

Anything else I'm missing?

Edit:



http://tifreakware.net/tifreak8x/checkers/AB.zip

2nd to select, Alpha to cancel selection, MODE to exit the program.

Thoughts?
Projects: AOD Series: 75% | FFME: 80% | Pokemon: 18% | RPGSK: 60% | Star Trek: 70% | Star Trek 83+: 40% | TI-City: 5%

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Clacualters are teh gr33t
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55943
  • Rating: +3154/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • Dream of Omnimaga Music
Re: TI-84+CSE: Checkers
« Reply #31 on: April 27, 2013, 02:18:58 am »
Storing to picvar should be made optional. Although I encourage using pics for fast loading or data storage to get around the RAM limitations, there are certain players who are extremely uptight about program file sizes, as I saw on certain forums in the past, so maybe they won't like if a Checkers game requires an extra 21 KB of archive just for 1 pic.

Offline tifreak

  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2708
  • Rating: +82/-3
  • My Kung Fu IS strong...
    • View Profile
    • TI-Freakware
Re: TI-84+CSE: Checkers
« Reply #32 on: April 27, 2013, 04:35:15 am »
Yeah, but it'd be deleted when the game was done, along with the rest of the variables.

And in all things, you have to do what you feel is what you want, you can't please 100% of the people 100% of the time :p
Projects: AOD Series: 75% | FFME: 80% | Pokemon: 18% | RPGSK: 60% | Star Trek: 70% | Star Trek 83+: 40% | TI-City: 5%

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Clacualters are teh gr33t
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55943
  • Rating: +3154/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • Dream of Omnimaga Music
Re: TI-84+CSE: Checkers
« Reply #33 on: April 27, 2013, 04:37:58 am »
Yeah true. In many cases it's close to impossible to have enough features in small space anyway (especially RPGs, when you don't want to end up with 1 hour of gameplay)

Offline tifreak

  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2708
  • Rating: +82/-3
  • My Kung Fu IS strong...
    • View Profile
    • TI-Freakware
Re: TI-84+CSE: Checkers
« Reply #34 on: April 27, 2013, 09:43:16 pm »


I finally have made it so you can take eachother's checkers! :D

Thoughts? :)
Projects: AOD Series: 75% | FFME: 80% | Pokemon: 18% | RPGSK: 60% | Star Trek: 70% | Star Trek 83+: 40% | TI-City: 5%

Offline tifreak

  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2708
  • Rating: +82/-3
  • My Kung Fu IS strong...
    • View Profile
    • TI-Freakware
Re: TI-84+CSE: Checkers
« Reply #35 on: April 28, 2013, 08:59:00 pm »
Alright, I believe I've gotten all the glitches and bugs worked out. I've even gotten rid of a pesky bug where if you went to the edge of the board, and then tried to go that way again, it messed up part of the checker selection.

Now, I've implemented the remainder for the title area:



The number under Player: will change to the color of the current player's checker, along with changing from 1 to 2.

What do you think? :)

And all updates to the game have been integrated into the main game program itself. The game is now sitting at 5,202 bytes in size, without the above screenshot stuff included. And it sadly only offers single jumps. I'm not sure how to implement multi jumps, yet.
Projects: AOD Series: 75% | FFME: 80% | Pokemon: 18% | RPGSK: 60% | Star Trek: 70% | Star Trek 83+: 40% | TI-City: 5%

Offline Sorunome

  • Fox Fox Fox Fox Fox Fox Fox!
  • Support Staff
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *************
  • Posts: 7920
  • Rating: +374/-13
  • Derpy Hooves
    • View Profile
    • My website! (You might lose the game)
Re: TI-84+CSE: Checkers
« Reply #36 on: April 29, 2013, 06:53:49 pm »
From all I have seen in this thread this is a pretty awesome game, nice job! :D

THE GAME
Also, check out my website
If OmnomIRC is screwed up, blame me!
Click here to give me an internet!

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Clacualters are teh gr33t
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55943
  • Rating: +3154/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • Dream of Omnimaga Music
Re: TI-84+CSE: Checkers
« Reply #37 on: May 02, 2013, 01:45:48 am »
Is it me or the tokens position inside squares are 1 or a few pixels off to the right? ???

Offline tifreak

  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2708
  • Rating: +82/-3
  • My Kung Fu IS strong...
    • View Profile
    • TI-Freakware
Re: TI-84+CSE: Checkers
« Reply #38 on: May 02, 2013, 09:21:45 pm »
I -think- they are centered. At least, to the best of my abilities.

I dropped it in MSPaint and zoomed as far as I could go with the grid on, and they are the same pixels away from the borders on all sides. :)
Projects: AOD Series: 75% | FFME: 80% | Pokemon: 18% | RPGSK: 60% | Star Trek: 70% | Star Trek 83+: 40% | TI-City: 5%

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Clacualters are teh gr33t
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55943
  • Rating: +3154/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • Dream of Omnimaga Music
Re: TI-84+CSE: Checkers
« Reply #39 on: May 02, 2013, 10:56:12 pm »
Ah ok. Weird then ???

Offline tifreak

  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2708
  • Rating: +82/-3
  • My Kung Fu IS strong...
    • View Profile
    • TI-Freakware
Re: TI-84+CSE: Checkers
« Reply #40 on: May 03, 2013, 08:35:27 pm »


The only things left are crowning and making it reset for a rematch. Should I worry about #2?

Crowning shouldn't be horrifically hard, I would think. Only problem is, this game is sitting at 5356 bytes in size. No idea how large crowning will cause this to go. I really need to see if I can downsize the overall game by combining some things..
« Last Edit: May 03, 2013, 08:35:37 pm by tifreak »
Projects: AOD Series: 75% | FFME: 80% | Pokemon: 18% | RPGSK: 60% | Star Trek: 70% | Star Trek 83+: 40% | TI-City: 5%

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Clacualters are teh gr33t
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55943
  • Rating: +3154/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • Dream of Omnimaga Music
Re: TI-84+CSE: Checkers
« Reply #41 on: May 03, 2013, 11:02:53 pm »
Making things small can be a bit hard in BASIC since sprites are drawn with lines/pxl-on/etc, although I don't mind if it's very large, personally.

By the way, to gain extra speed, have you considered releasing another version of this game in hybrid-BASIC using LCDTOOL asm lib? The game would take the entire screen width, but be 160x165 (stretched to 320x165) instead of 265x165. Of course, it wouldn't be pure-BASIC anymore and the display might be affected (mostly by larger text), but maybe it would take less time to load stuff if drawn vertically. It could look like this (quick mockup):



The lib in question is available in the zip file of this sadistic disaster and was made by calc84maniac. Syntax is as follow:

Resolution+ScreenStartPos:Asm(prgmLCDTOOL

Resolution can be i (320x240) or 2i (160x240), the i being the imaginary i. ScreenStartPos can be any number from 0 to 319 (in your case, you would use 2i+27:Asm(prgmLCDTOOL).
« Last Edit: May 03, 2013, 11:21:39 pm by DJ Omnimaga »

Offline tifreak

  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2708
  • Rating: +82/-3
  • My Kung Fu IS strong...
    • View Profile
    • TI-Freakware
Re: TI-84+CSE: Checkers
« Reply #42 on: May 04, 2013, 04:56:13 am »
I can't really say I'm impressed with that, as it makes the checkers and text not look so nice :<

But I don't really know, I might look into it later, I just want to get this game out there in a fully playable format :) So close to it, too! *curses lack of time to work on things*
Projects: AOD Series: 75% | FFME: 80% | Pokemon: 18% | RPGSK: 60% | Star Trek: 70% | Star Trek 83+: 40% | TI-City: 5%

Offline Hayleia

  • Programming Absol
  • Coder Of Tomorrow
  • LV12 Extreme Poster (Next: 5000)
  • ************
  • Posts: 3367
  • Rating: +393/-7
    • View Profile
Re: TI-84+CSE: Checkers
« Reply #43 on: May 04, 2013, 04:59:15 am »
I can't really say I'm impressed with that, as it makes the checkers and text not look so nice :<
I agree that the text is quite ugly this way, but the pieces are not looking so bad.
And the speed gain would be worth it in my opinion :)
I own: 83+ ; 84+SE ; 76.fr ; CX CAS ; Prizm ; 84+CSE
Sorry if I answer with something that seems unrelated, English is not my primary language and I might not have understood well. Sorry if I make English mistakes too.

click here to know where you got your last +1s

Offline alex99

  • LV3 Member (Next: 100)
  • ***
  • Posts: 80
  • Rating: +9/-5
    • View Profile
    • Alexstudious
Re: TI-84+CSE: Checkers
« Reply #44 on: May 06, 2013, 01:26:19 pm »
hey it´s already the best game on a ti84+cse!!!
VISIT:

www.atomsoftware.jimdo.com

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------